Sweating

16 messages
06/08/2002 at 22:32
A guy at work was telling me that he overdresses when he goes running to make him sweat in order to lose weight.I have just recently started running myself. I'm no expert but surely he is doing more harm than good?
06/08/2002 at 22:40
This depends ....is he a marathon runner who habitualy dresses like big bird off Sesame Street ?
07/08/2002 at 07:05
......errr - yes big mistake - he's obviously been watching too much boxing. Fluid loss is only temporary but I guess if he only ever weighs himself after a run then......
WildWill    pirate
07/08/2002 at 09:41
Sweating to lose weight is not the way to go (i.e. daft), all you are doing is losing water (getting dehydrated) and this will be replaced when you re-hydrate.

Regular exercise and a sensible diet is all you need to control weight.

Will
07/08/2002 at 10:49
Ignore the guy at work.
He's very silly.
07/08/2002 at 11:57
Yes, you're right, at best he's making himself uncomfortable and at worst he's heading for a sick set of kidneys. Don't be tempted to try that trick yourself.

He may even be slowing down his weight loss, because you can run faster and further, and use up more calories, if you are properly hydrated.

Cheers, V-rap.

07/08/2002 at 16:20
Agree with Martinh, looks like he's been watching too many boxing films.
As WildWill says if he controls his diet and runs regularly he will lose weight all in good time !!
I think most people think that the weight will fall off in a matter of days. Don't know about you lot but It always seemd to me to take ten minutes to put on and ten months to take off.
07/08/2002 at 19:25
Thought so,I'll print off this thread and show it to him. As for the boxing films did hear him singing Eye of the Tiger yesterday.
13/07/2004 at 13:04
I've ditched the heavy weights in the gym and have been running for about 10 months and in that time i've lost 10 pounds!
mellifera    pirate
13/07/2004 at 14:10