Tight lower back after run!?!?!

6 messages
01/12/2007 at 09:04

Hello,

Ive been having some real tighness in my lower back recently about an hour or so after my run. Here is my routine ,

Good streching session before my run 10-15 min

2.6 mile run (im just a beginner)

Get back home and first grab a nice big drink of water. no sitting down.

Start my streching again, basically same routine as before my run.

Now, all seems good, I have my shower and still im nice and flexible touching my toes as i get dressed. 

Walk the dog for 40 min, get back home and holy lumbar batman. I cant touch my toes as the pain in my lower back is quite painfull, but its like a tightness because after a few minutes it eases off.

Any thoughts?  

01/12/2007 at 17:33

I have similar trouble. I changed my routine and started cycling in the forest , atempting to xtrain.

this was a huge mistake and I had to have a week off work, muscle relaxants, pain killers and massages to try and relax the cramp. I fell off the toilet twice as I couldnt stand up, my kids had to put my sock on for me.

I bought a swiss ball and started doing sit ups on it and laods of wierd sretching every evening for 3 hrs instead of slouching on the couch infront of the box.

the sit ups have really helped with the core muscles.

I run about the same as you now without the pain  and I can touch my toes too!!

it will take a couple of weeks to see any inprovements, but it is worth it.

01/12/2007 at 18:06

many thanks for the info. I will get me one of those swiss balls,

Cheers,

Dave

02/12/2007 at 13:58