Wheezy chest after running

7 messages
12/07/2011 at 11:31

I have noticed that I get a wheezy chest & cough a lot  after a run when I have really pushed myself either in a race or when I have done pushed myself to do a shorter fast run.  Its also particular worse running in the hot weather as it feels like I cant breathe very well at all and find myself getting quite panicky about it. I have to slow myself down and control breathing to stop it turning into a full panic attack.

The wheeziness lasts anything from a few minutes after my run to up to an hour after. I dont have asthma and havent smoked for the last 7 years so dont know what it could be. Anyone have any ideas what it is and what to do to about it?

12/07/2011 at 19:33
I am by no means an expert but I have heard there is such a thing as exercise induced asthma - it could be that. In terms of how to deal with it, I have no idea. Might be worth a trip to your gp though
12/07/2011 at 22:30
Sounds like asthma to me. Do you ever wake up at night coughing? You might have exercise induced asthma or asthma triggered by pollen/pollution? A trip to the GP is a good idea.
12/07/2011 at 22:44
I posted my own very similar thread then saw yours below! My problem gets worse once I stop though, does yours?
13/07/2011 at 17:54

Thanks for your replies. I dont have any other coughing at all its just when I'm pushing myself during a run and then lasts for up to an hour after a hard run. I did a 10 mile run today without any problems but it was at a slower pace.

I do suffer from hayfever so could be linked to that but will google excersise induced asthma to see if theres any info. I will go to my gp if its persists as I was really hoping to do some inteval training in preparation for my half marathon so hope its not going to have an effect.

LIVERBIRD    pirate
13/07/2011 at 18:10

Certainly sounds like EI asthma to me.

And I have it.

14/07/2011 at 09:29