Long runs - best practice

Too many long runs close together

12 messages
03/03/2009 at 14:58

I've already done a couple of races in the past few weeks and am scheduled to do a  number of long runs...

• 22 Feb - Sussex Beacon Half Marathon 
  • 01 March - Cloud 9 Hill 
  • 09 March - Banbury 15
  • 22 March - A20 17.2
  • 29 March - Cranleigh 21 

Was just talking to a colleague who's previously done 2 x marathons and he's concerned that I maybe doing the 17 and 21 miles too close to each other and risk injury.  Can anyone advise as to the best options?  Should I potentially do 17 miles on 13 March, and a shorter run (half marathon?) on 22 March instead before doing the 21 miles on 29 March? 

Thanks

Susan

03/03/2009 at 15:19
Probably depends on how you run them - i.e. treat them as genuine long SLOW runs (yes) or race them (no). I'm no expert but I can't see any harm in your schedule so long as you aren't intending to race them...I'm using Cranleigh myself as part of pre-FLM build up and would also plan on doing 17-18 the week before, like you.
cougie    pirate
03/03/2009 at 15:23
If you are just running them - then that would be OK - but if you race them - then that wouldnt be good for you.

I think the schedule looks a bit heavy there - is this your first Marathon ? If it were me - I'd probably drop a couple of them - you want to save some energy for FLM.

See how you feel after the weekend with 3 races in 3 weeks ?
03/03/2009 at 15:30

Susan, thats a lot of races in a short period of time. I suspect like most of us once you get to the start line you will race them and if thats the case not only do you risk injury but you certainly risk burning out before London. A very well respected coach told me a 20 mile race is as bad as a marathon and he would leave 8 weeks clear between a 20m race and a marathon.