RW Forum SIx – 3.30 – 4.00

Carterusm with Spoons

2,001 to 2,020 of 4,655 messages
03/05/2013 at 22:02

I went through a phase of taking a gel on the startline but stopped because I never really noticed any difference. Others swear by it though. I tend to sip a bottle of sport drink on the way to the race, and whilst hanging about at the start. I'm no expert but I always figure a sport drink is just a watered down gel anyway!

03/05/2013 at 22:26
Nell Blue wrote (see)

Hi Carl, I have found when performing interval trainng that I am pushing more from the front foot and adapting more of a pose method of running. My feet tend to spend more time in the air but that seems to be taken care of by the power I am producing from the push off. when I am running longer distances I am falling back into the high turnover of feet and falling more on the mid foot. That make sense?

Hi Nell - I think it makes alot of sense as sprinting is all about power and power comes from pushing more from the front. Not that I am saying that I am sprinting 10k. Going from being conditioned for a marathon to trying to generate speed is quite a tough transition to make.

03/05/2013 at 23:36

Good job Carter - pain free again I assume

Forecast for Limerick is dry with sunny intervals, 14mph SW wind and 17 deg....... a bit on the warm side but I'd take that if it was guaranteed for Sun!

Had a family event to go to tonight which ran on and then an hours work to finish when I got back in after 10pm so have nothing organised! Plan to leave tomorrow morning around 11am - stop off for lunch @ halfway and arrive @ expo in Limerick mid/late afternoon.

Carl - romantic ?... with 2 hyperactive kids under 6 in tow?... no chance.

So I may not be online again until I get to the hotel tomorrow evening

04/05/2013 at 10:30