Sub 3

For anyone trying to crack the 3 in any marathon anywhere in the world

105,661 to 105,680 of 108,460 messages
25/04/2014 at 10:01

Padams -  I understand the logic behind what you & others have said about let the training tell you where you are & set your target from that. I have only run the 3 marathons, so I'm less experienced than many on here, but this time round I took my most recent HM time put it into a few calculators & decided that going for sub 2:45 wasn't beyond possibility & so set targets/MP accordingly. Now if trying to hit that pace in the early MP efforts was proving too much of a struggle I would have revised that target down, probably wouldn't have set targets any higher if I was finding it easier though so a bit inflexible.

Maybe as I'm still a comparative novice & very much still developing at all distances I find setting an ambitious but achievable target & then training for it works for me. 

25/04/2014 at 10:23

OldNo7 - I agree it is worth having a very rough figure in mind from the outset as that provides a bit of motivation. But you need to make sure you're not limiting yourself if you progress faster than expected (and vice versa), as you suggest.

It reminds me a bit of the most annoying question which I read occasionally (or variants): "What is the minimum amount of training I need to do to do xxxx?"

PP - can hardly tell the difference between you and Kipsang....

25/04/2014 at 11:11

Dude had wings long before #BOOST made an appearance.

Reassuring to hear the following though :-

Hugh Brasher, race director, said: “We have a number of anti-cheating measures but there are a few people, a very few people, who unfortunately do take short cuts in the marathon.

“We have an investigation process which takes two to three weeks to complete and when that is finished any people who are believed to have falsified their times will be disqualified from this race and all future London marathons.'