Sub 3h15

For anyone trying to crack the 3h15 barrier anywhere in the world

23,701 to 23,720 of 38,935 messages
17/01/2013 at 09:16

Good point, Keir. I'm running round a sports field which is pretty flat. I am a bit concerned about over doing it as it's still hard work. Fortunately next week is cut-back week, so I'll take it easy and hope the snow and ice have gone in time for the start of my 10k schedule. Overall, I'm feeling pretty good. I've been doing 40+mpw for a couple of months now. This will drop a bit for the start of the 10k training and then build back up again. By the time I start HM training I should be up to 50mpw and will be somewhere around that for the rest of the year. So come 2014 I should be in good shape to tackle a mara all being well. But still a long way to go!

Edited: 17/01/2013 at 09:17
17/01/2013 at 09:43

Great picture  Minni.
Not sure I understand about body milk - I will leave that one.

No field for me - I did my first ever treadmill session today. A few issues to start with (kept knocking an emergency stop button on the hand rail). I soon binned the idea of doing intervals - the machine took forever to get up and down speeds, so ended up doing 10miles with 6 at sub 6:15min/m. It was quite nice doing a LT session on a soft surface, warm, and not scanning for traffic and kerbs.

Treadmill reckoned I was a little quicker than that but I will go off the garmin as I recently calibrated it. Conclusion - yes I would do speedier sessions again on a treadmill.

17/01/2013 at 09:58
Minni. Looks like a really lovely place to run very envious.

Gul. Respect, running 17 laps round a field,shows you are a very disciplined individual.

Ant. Body milk? Love the way you set yourself up for some stick!!!

Keir. Interesting and informative other thread, still catching up on it.

4.5m. This morning very f...cold, knee still a little tender, got some strange looks running in this weather, well done everyone having the balls to get out there!