sub 4 hour group,if anyone wants to get together

all welcome

64,401 to 64,420 of 67,387 messages
20/03/2013 at 14:17

No WT - no Noakes diet books or anything yet.  I haven't listened to it yet, but the Talk Ultra current episode - #30 I think - is a recording of the talk Marc gave in Lanza.  There are food suggestions in there. Don't know if it made the cut but I asked specifically about what fats were ok to eat.  Also, if you can, do listen to the Talk Ultra Training podcasts.  I haven't listened to all of them yet, though.

You can either No Carb or Low Carb.  Paleo is pretty much No Carb, which I just don't think I could do.  At the moment - and I'm no expert - the two things that stand out for me are not having starchy things like rice, pasta, spuds with every meal, and eating a high fat breakfast to get the day's fat metabolism going.

For about six months now, poss longer, we've been a full fat household - full fat milk, yog, creme fraiche etc, although I've only just started the actively eating fat thing.  I've always loved cheese etc but it was always a treat, in moderation.

I'd suggest doing a bit of reading and then perhaps starting to make a couple of changes in the diet to see what happens.  I think its interesting and relevant for someone like you who's doing ultra stuff.  The gippy tummy thing when you have lots of carbs when exercising is dire and if you can avoid it by eating a lot less, but fatty food on the go - and not upsetting your tum, but at the same time giving you boundless energy - has to be a good thing.

20/03/2013 at 14:19

Oh Ikle. Bugger.  I seem to use the word a lot - and seem to be able to remember to spell it properly the first time - and feel smug about it - then use it again immediately and spell it incorrectly.  What a dunce.

20/03/2013 at 14:36

WT- You are crazy! but amazing. How on earth do you go from not a lot to 190 miles in 7 days.