Training plan confusion

8 messages
01/01/2012 at 18:53

After reading the marathon training articles in the January 2012 magazine I settled on the 'just get round plan' (with 'boosters') to train for the Vienna marathon in April.  I'm a novice matathoner so havn't got a good understanding of what works so a recommendation from RW seemed ideal.  But I am now confused as the RW Marathon email seems to recommend a different plan.  I figured they would be consistent in their recommendation so is one better than the other?

Any help appreciated. 

01/01/2012 at 23:23

Jonathan,

Add me on runningvandit@gmail.com and I'll be more than happy to help you.

Regards,

Darren.

02/01/2012 at 22:32

Thanks for the offer Darren.  I'm going to stick with the plan from the magazine so i'm all set now.

Regards

Jonathan

03/01/2012 at 09:12
I understand that you might trust the magazine, but a proper and suitable training plan should be given weekly & changed according to your needs, areas of improvement etc etc. Sometimes I have a predetermined quality session on the track but it may vary according to how I feel, the level of progress within the set target & many more.

Good luck with your training & marathon.
Any specific target set?

I have the Malta Half Marathon in 8 weeks time targeting sub 1:18.

Regards,
Darren.
03/01/2012 at 12:48
Hi Jonathan,