training plan

11 messages
12/12/2005 at 16:28
Does anyone recommend a good training plan for a 4.30 marathon?

Thanks
12/12/2005 at 16:33
I use one from halhigdon.com
12/12/2005 at 17:33
I think RW do a sub 4.30 training plan, might be worth a look, just click on the grey tab.
20/12/2005 at 11:56
I will be using one I got from the GreatRun website. It's for sub 4:00, which is a bit over-ambitious for me. However, I have adapted it downwards. Most weeks have 4 sessions, but some have 5 so I've adapted it to take out a session on those weeks and it looks like a realistic schedule. The long weekenders build up to a maximum of 4. I'm relatively new to running but find that 5 runs per week doesn't give me enough recovery time and my legs and hips start to get over-sore.
20/12/2005 at 12:08
Just one thing i would like to add. The more 16,18 & 20 milers you put in the more you will get out on the day. Between 02 jan & 23 April iI will be putting in 3x16 mile, 3x 18mile & 2x 20mile runs & of course 26.2 miles on the day. ON my training plan i estimate that i will be running in the region of 560ish miles. Happy Days eh!
20/12/2005 at 12:58
Correction to my post - the long runs peak at 3 hours, not 4. Davey B's schedule looks a bit more comprehensive than mine, which will no doubt be reflected in his performance on the day!
20/12/2005 at 22:32
Crispy, i'm not too worried about my time on the day, i am training 8 other people to run their first maarthon, so as long as we finish i will be happy. I am having trouble with my knees at the moment. I am looking to get these guys round in 4.30 or less ( they dont know that yet!!!)
21/12/2005 at 08:06
Davey - keep up the good work! This is my first Marathon so perhaps I should join your group!
21/12/2005 at 12:10
Crispy, is this your first London marathon or first Marathon?