What are chances of getting in

for a first time applicant

13 messages
18/10/2002 at 10:03
I've done about 6 half marathons so far (doing maybe 2 a year)and this year decided to continue and also my training through the winter having applied for FLM '03. I've never done a marathon before. Does anybody know the chances of getting in? Are places for marathon virgins limited or do they have same chance as everybody else. Should i build my hopes up?

Ta
18/10/2002 at 11:18
Paul. In 11 years I have only been accepted twice via the ballot. If you are rejected then apply to a recognised charity, there are loads advertised who offer a Golden Bond place. All you need to do is obtain a certain amount of sponsorship for them. One top tip is to make a note of the cheque serial number you sent with your application and if you didnt pledge it to charity then if it is cashed in Dec you are in. Wyn
18/10/2002 at 11:22
shouldn't get my hopes up then. as an astmatic myself i was going to run for an ashtma charity. if i'm unsucessful in the ballot i'll try and get in through that route then. cheers.
18/10/2002 at 13:25
I was a first time applicant through the ballot last year, and was successful! so there is a chance :-)
19/10/2002 at 00:17
Paul. I know of 2 runners who have been accepted 2 years on the trot. Its a lottery and I'm in it!
19/10/2002 at 09:28
You have the same chance as the rest of us.
Minimal !
Get a gold bond place fool
19/10/2002 at 10:37
Applied every year since '94 , got in in '94 and '02 rejected the 7 times in between
20/10/2002 at 13:33
Does the amount you have to raise for gold bonds vary with the charity?
21/10/2002 at 13:12
Carmel