Beginner Running and Whey Protein

20 messages
30/05/2011 at 20:57

Hi

This is my first post so apologies if it is in the wrong area. I have been researching this topic myself throughout the forum, but was wondering if anyone could give me some more specific advice to my training.

I have been an on and off runner for some time however recently I have started to step it up; with the intial aim of weightloss. I was carrying a bit of excess fat and weighed 11 st 10 lbs. I have been running 3 days a week (most weeks) for the last 2 months now and steadily increasing my distance; im currently up to 10 miles. Over this time I have lost 1 stone which is great, I have seen my excess fat shrink considerably and am feeling great.

However I have noticed that I have became much weaker in the upper body of late, and so now wish to try and maintain my mass/become a bit more toned whilst keeping up the running; hoping to train for half marathon distance as a personal goal. I also want to burn a bit more fat without becoming too scrawny.

To do this I am going to introduce a couple or three days a week of weight training (not too heavy stuff), as I believe this will help burn fat and maintain or boost muscle mass. Iv decided to take some whey protein shakes alongside my training.

I bought Sci-Max 100% Whey protein shakes. It advises 2-3 servings per day (36g protein per serving I think) and before and after training. I am reluctant however to follow these guidelines as I dont wish to either become huge or to put on a lot of weight.

My feeling is that 2 servings a day on those days that I do weights (and running), and  possibly just a half serving after just running (moreso on the long distance days) should be more appropiate.

Does anyone have any experience in this area or any advice on how much protein I should take to help with my goals?

Apologies for the longish post, and thanks in advance for any replies!

Mark

30/05/2011 at 21:41