HADD training plan

3,261 to 3,280 of 3,777 messages
06/06/2013 at 19:15

Today was a recovery 5M run. I went to the PT again. Turns out I have a fairly significant imbalance going on in my hips which translates to my legs. Basically, my right thigh/calf muscles are literally much bigger than the right. Also, my glutes are really weak and have different weaknesses in the inner thigh, hammy, and glute depending on the side of the body. So we are working to balance the hips and strengthen the areas in need. I'm fully committing to this (a series of core type exercises) so we'll see how it goes. I'm kind of excited as I have a feeling this is going to dramatically impact my running (and hopefully reduce my constant injury vulnerability). My heel played up a bit yesterday but is totally good today. We are keeping an eye on it (hopefully this other work will allow the heel to resolve).

Also, the quarter mile speeds were minus the hurdles. But, as a former sprinter, running those strides yesterday made me literally feel 18 again (if only for a brief moment in time!). Speed may kill in our current running lives, but man is it fun

06/06/2013 at 19:16

Too much data in here...sorry Mace, killer Sub-LT for you as well!!

06/06/2013 at 19:52

Some great running going on here.

Just noticed you got 3:25 Chick.     What maxHR do you start your marathons at?  80%?  (or anyone else)

07/06/2013 at 07:32

Teknik that's INSPIRING! Thanks

Yesterday I did a conference call during my 9 mile plod. I was running so slow that I was able to talk plenty during the call and no one knew i was running. It was a proper lol moment!

07/06/2013 at 07:57

spen, my tried and tested method for marathons is start at 83%, progress to 85% by 6M, aiming to hit 87% at h/way. Ensure you don't hit 90% till your inside the last 10k.

Will be interesting to see how I go this lunchtime, I have a raging hangover

07/06/2013 at 08:30

Im sure you answered this before Brian, thanks again!!!!