Heavy Runner Advise Request!

7 messages
17/05/2005 at 13:39
I am a heavy runner, 19 stones and only 6 foot.
I have been running this time for a couple of years and have lost a few stone, but then put it back on very quickly. I was quite a good runner up until I was around 25 years old and then managed to put on 9 stone in a year (15 stone to 24 stone). I have never been a speed runner, but had quite a good distance and would run around 40 miles per week

HOWEVER WE MUST MOVE ON!

My question. I am now running about 3 – 5 times a week and this can be from anything between 30 minuets to 1 ½ hours. If I can control my intake of food then I will be laughing, however I have used a HRM for years and find it very very hard to run at a fat burning BPM (around 123 – 130) running at this BPM is slow very slow so I run at around 155 – 165 on the flat. Should I reduce to the fat burning BPM to encourage the weight loose. I know eating the correct food will help but I sometimes get a craving and really really can’t say no, its so strong.

I am 30 years of age

Running distance is not a problem. After completing several 5k, 10k, 10mile, 11mile (Thanks The Terminator) and the London ½ marathon.
Duck Girl    pirate
17/05/2005 at 13:42
IMHO no, don't slow down. at 100cal/mile (ish) then if you can get more miles done in an hour, you will burn more cals in that hour. at slower speeds some people reckon you burn a higher % fat (i don't know) but you still burn the same amount over the hour if you go faster 'cos you burn more cals total.
The Evil Pixie    pirate
17/05/2005 at 13:44
Pop over to the URWFRC and join in the Counts thread! Lots of advice on there!
cougie    pirate
17/05/2005 at 13:46
Errrm - yeah - you do burn more calories, but its the glycogen that goes with intensity. You wanna burn fat, so you do want to take it easy, and run for longer.

Also make sure your shoes are good and prepare to change them well before you get to that 500mile figure that's usually mentioned.