How much could I expect to improve by upping my training?

7 messages
24/12/2002 at 10:47
Hi everyone and a merry xmas. I am new to the forum as a member but have been reading threads with interest for the past 6 months. I would like some advice on how much you feel that I could improve if I became more dedicated to running. I have been running 'on and off' for the past 5 years but have never really improved due to somewhat eratic mileage I guess. The main reason for my running has been to try and improve my Karate which I do twice a week. Over the past 12 months I have logged my mileage and am averaging about 7 miles a week (I know, not much!) which consists of anything from 1-4 runs per week depending on work etc etc. I guess you could say that I am roughly doing 2 tempo type runs of 3.3 miles a week on average and occasionally do some speedwork on the treadmill (every 2 weeks or so). I can comfortably run 10 minute miles, my 'tempo' 10k pace is about 9 min miles and if I go flat out and kill myself I can run 8:15 for 2-3 miles. So my question is: If I did change my training, become more dedicated, up my mileage to 20,30 miles a week what degree of improvement would be possible? I have run one 10k in March last year (53:59) and feel that If I did one now the time would be the same - I am not improving but not getting any worse. Thanks for reading this and any comments much appreciated. BTW I am a 36 year old male (ex smoker who quit 10 years ago) with max HR of 175 and resting pulse of 48.
24/12/2002 at 12:23