HRM - how should I use it!!

1 to 20 of 40 messages
The Evil Pixie    pirate
31/12/2002 at 13:50
(disclaimer - runner I don't think this question is answered in the multitude(sp) of other HRM threads!)

Guys I need some advice!(bet you hadn't guessed that one!)
I started running about 5mths ago and I am very slow with about 2st extra to carry with me! I have just managed my longest continual waddle of 6.5Miles.

Santa bought me a lovely HRM for Chrimbo and here lies my question!
The gym says I should exercise around 134bpm, Polar say my range (moderate exercise ideal for fitness and weight lose!) is 124-162 however my average HR whilst out waddling is about 180-182!

So do I...
1) slow down and walk/run so I keep within my "zone"
or
2) carry on regardless and use the HRM as a measurement of improvement?

Is my HR so high as I am an overweight novice or am I really pushing it too much (average of 12 min/m! so not fast!)??

Thanks fit people!

EP
31/12/2002 at 14:24
EP

Ummm...it's really not that easy to answer.

firstly - on what basis are those estimates from "the gym" and Polar made?

Is 180 your mean HR for the whole period of your run - or is that just what you tend to peak at?

You can take general, age based formulae (Karvonen), using max and min HR as a basis for calculating what HR you should be training at, but actual max HR figures quoted by runners on this forum (of varying degrees of fitness) suggest that these are not very accurate in the real world.

The problem is that there are many many factors which affect HR (as pointed out by Ron Grover in that marathon thread on General) - as a result, it can be very hard (unless you you pursue your training with the sort of exceptional, clinical detachment and precision that appears characteristic of, say, Drew) to establish exactly what your training "effort zones" are.