Marathon Training

9 messages
30/06/2003 at 17:57
I did my first marathon on 18th May in Prague and am considering doing another. There is one in Wolverhampton on 7 September - this only leaves me with 2 months training.
Think that this is do-able?
30/06/2003 at 18:35
Hi Jayne, I am no expert, just training for my first marathon for a few years, but it could be do-able. It would depend on how you are feeling now, do you feel fully recovered from Prague and have you been doing any type of training since. If you are aiming just to finish without trying to beat previous times give it a go, but do not overdo it.

What was your time in Prague?
30/06/2003 at 20:07
Yes it's do-able. It just depends how fast you want to run it.
01/07/2003 at 08:45
Hi I took it really steady in Prague as it was my first marathon - did 3.50. Felt great afterwards - went out sightseeing after a quick shower. No problems since but I am finding it hard to get back into training mode. Been doing about 25 - 30 miles a week - longest run is about 1.30 to 2 hours.
01/07/2003 at 09:09
Hi Jayne, well done on your Prague time. My experience is that when you've had a good marathon, as you obviously did, then your body feels great and continuing to run afterwards feels fine. However, if you then get straight back into training without allowing the body to recover, eventually and it could be months later a feeling of tireness or lack of enthusiasm takes hold.

Maybe, this is not what is happening to you and you just need to refocus on your next marathon goal.

You've got a good base, so you could just pick up a programme and follow the last 10 weeks, which I'm sure would be fine. You might get a better marathon time who knows? It's on the day that counts!

Good luck in whatever you decide to do!
01/07/2003 at 10:55
Hi Jayne,