Moraghan Training - Stevie G

12,801 to 12,820 of 25,260 messages
08/10/2012 at 16:55
I've been lurking on these threads for far too long now.Hi all.stevie see is it the flintshire10k?If so its two 5k laps round mold town centre with a hill of about a mile.I've raced the course twice.Hoping for anything that starts with a 36 on sunday!
08/10/2012 at 18:31

welcome steven....im guessing if you are aware of flintshire 10k you are another +1 for the northerners.

08/10/2012 at 18:46
Yes Dean i live about 10 miles from chester.
Im a relative newbie to this running lark.
Been running for just over year.one of my training partners is a regular on these threads.Andy the deestrider!
08/10/2012 at 19:06

i have only been running/training for a yr too! in fact its a yr to the day tomorrow i think.   

Andy ran well at lake vrynwy & is going strong by the sounds of it, so you are in good company there.  im sure PBs will follow you round!

Whats your race plans after flintshire?

08/10/2012 at 19:16

Steve, for one ugly moment, i thought you were the thankfully departed ex chairman of my local footy club!!

But you're not,  so welcome pal.

And another chap who's not been running too long and already hitting good times!

They always say you have 7-10years to improve.

But I've always wondered when that starts from? from your first run? When you perhaps mix it with another sport or are very casual?

Or from the start of high mileage intense training?

And then how high is high?

Edited: 08/10/2012 at 19:17
08/10/2012 at 19:29
Hi steve.After 6-7 months of pb after pb its already getting tougher.In the last few months ive steadily upped the mileage but im slowly realising that running is a patience game.i seem to have been targeting a sub37 for about the last 4 10k's.
08/10/2012 at 19:31

10k was never a distance i found easy starting out. Something about the 0.2 of a mile, and the 10 markers seems to play havoc!