Nutrition

1 to 20 of 121 messages
11/08/2007 at 19:00
Hello all!

Life has suddenly got a bit more serious for me as I've changed my race distances from half mara to mara. With half maras I've just blagged it round on Rowntrees Fruit Pastilles, water and lucozade pouches if they were included as part of the water stations. However, I've decided to up my game and enter a marathon.

The thing is, I don't understand nutrition. Therefore, what stuff should I be eating on the run? Obviously it's these gel things that everyone talks about so please can you tell me a bit about them? What brands are best. How often do you have one. What are the nice flavours? What are the gross flavours? Also, what's all this powder stuff? SIS or something? How do you use that?

Talk to me like a 7 year old, this is all new territory for me.

Thank you!
nsc
11/08/2007 at 19:07
Mouse - I'm no expert, in fact am a bit of an non-understanding numpty about all of this too, and am also just stepping up the milage for a marathon too (think we're doing the same one)

I've just starting experimenting with the sis go gels, whichever flavour you go for they're exceedingly sweet and the texture is, shall we say, interesting! but I have no idea how many, how often, is water ok or should I be drinking other stuff???

awaits answers from those who know...
11/08/2007 at 19:12
Experiment and see what you like - for me water and a couple of Hi5 energy bars worked well enough - all those gels do is make me feel sick.

Powders are fine to make up a sports drink for training but maybe not possible to use in a race. If you are doing a marathon that provides sports drink then practice using that drink.

It is possible to overdo the nutrition and end up with stomach cramps.
11/08/2007 at 19:15
I cannot even get a gel past my lips

i manage about 300-500 mls sports drink in a marathon and maybe a few sweets

Too much sweet stuff and i get stomach cramps and trotts