Off road and hills

10 messages
24/12/2013 at 23:46

Can anyone help with traing plans? I started running in August after a year and a half out following tearing my ACL and having knee surgery. I've built up to 3x 10Ks a week on a mix of off road and on. I've been challenged to a 15 mile off road hill race. Sounds ace but not sure on what training I should or shouldn't be doing. Any help would be great

25/12/2013 at 02:54

Sounds like a fell race. I'm no expert but I'd guess that you should practice hills a bit and up your mileage so that your longest run is about 12 miles of very easy running/jogging. Or Google fell racing training plans.

25/12/2013 at 10:15

Google has all the answers!! It's the Balmoral 15 mile race. I will look into it. I was going to move onto a half marathon training plan but just wasn't sure of how I can adjust it for hill runs. Cheers

25/12/2013 at 14:25

A half plan till do for distances but you will need to add in some hills to avoid coming unstuck on race day.

good luck.

26/12/2013 at 08:29

Cheers Flob!!

05/01/2014 at 18:11

Anyone else want to help? Any good apps that could help?

05/01/2014 at 18:13

And run on some fairly rough off road terrain to get used to it, both physically and psychologically!

06/01/2014 at 00:49