Pace

8 messages
01/04/2005 at 08:06
Can anyone tell me if I run a 3 mile race at 7.46 pace, how I train to get this pace or slightly slower (7.51) for a half marathon. My dream would be to get under 1.30 for a half marathon. Last year I ran a 5 mile undulating race at 7.20 pace in May and then in the September ran a half marathon (flat) at 7.15 pace. I have been running for three years and average about 30-35 miles per week. I currently do a couple of speed sessions a week - maybe 10 x 1 min and other different ones - maybe 6 x 800 or 400. I found the 7.46 pace "doable" so know that I can "do" it - it's just "maintaining it for longer" but not sure how to train for it. Any help?
01/04/2005 at 09:28
My experience is that short interval speedwork is of only limited use when training for longer races (i.e. half marathon). I would go for longer intervals.

Find a loop of about 1k.
Start with a 10 min run round the loop at 80-85% of MHR.
Jog for 3 minutes (back to the start of the loop).
Run 10 mins again.

The second week increase to 2 x 12 mins. Then try 1 x 20 mins........ and so on.
01/04/2005 at 09:36
It's a bit of a misconception, Mairead. Physiologically, no-one will ever have a best pace for one distance which is the same as for a shorter distance. So to improve your pace over a half marathon, you will inevitably need to improve your three-mile pace. In other words, you need to get fitter - speedwork's the key, it's just a case of finding the most effective speedwork - maybe Mr W's plan?
01/04/2005 at 09:42
Thanks - will give that a go. I have tried speedwork of 6 mins, 3 mins and 1 min. Aimed for three sets but stopped after two as I found it quite hard. Will try longer intervals as well. I am aiming for a half marathon in June and probably September as well - should I see an improvement in pace for June half marathon do you think?
01/04/2005 at 12:43