Rowing Vs Running

1 to 20 of 29 messages
09/01/2003 at 07:23
Hi all, my first post on the board but I have been reading for the last couple of weeks what's going on.

I only started running 14 weeks ago and the total I do each week is a 10 k run tuesdays and 5k warm up run (this one before a circuit training session) on Thursday. The reason I do it is the coach of the rowing club I row for insists on it. I must admit that I enjoy the running when running with others and can even "drag" myself of bed occasionally for the odd solo run but I would much prefer to go sit on a rowing machine for an hour. But I was just wondering if anyone knew the benifits for rowing fitness that running might bring?

Also though I can run at a pace which is not fantastic compared with a lot of people (10 k in 41.12) I never seem to run "easy" if anyone understands what I mean by that? maybe my technique needs work or something?

thanks in advance anyway to any replies
09/01/2003 at 10:35
I am no expert, other than being married to a rower who has to run once or twice a week too as dictated by his coach. I think he finds that it contributes to his general aerobic fitness in a way that even a 20k erg doesn't. I know that when he is rowing, running and circuit training he is at his peak and does the best 2k erg times - I think it's the hollistic approach that works best for him. He does have some knee problems though - his thighs are hugely over-developed from rowing and I guess that the thigh muscle pulls on his less-developed knee muscles when he runs, so he can't run further than 6 miles and prefers softer surfaces to roads. He did his first 10k race last year and was on a real high (although he beat me which I was a bit pissed off at!) And by the way, please don't say that 10k in 41mins is not that great - it's a damn site faster than the majority of runners (I think the average min/mile of a Runners World reader is about 8-9mins, so 50-56mins for a 10k) NO wonder you don't run easy! S