Shades Marathon Training

60,621 to 60,640 of 66,390 messages
22/04/2013 at 10:06

Big_G thats terrible.. very bad form from VLM.. I'm all for planning and sticking to rules etc but you are right.. thats alot of training for something really silly

Iain .. he is amazing isn't he! It makes you reevaluate!

22/04/2013 at 10:13
Bootsie, I really sympathise, it must be so frustrating. How long have you had the physio for? I'm no expert but I know from my knee injury that it took longer than I'd hoped to get better (about 3 months for me). I never really got a proper diagnosis as such but did at least have an exercise plan that I could feel working. But I did have strict instructions to rest completely from running for the whole 3 months. Has it got to the stage where a second opinion might help, even if only to reassure you? Have they considered acupuncture, ultrasound or massage?
22/04/2013 at 10:25

I've been seeing him on and off for about 2 years.  I am keen to get a second opinion which was why I was thinking about seeing a podiatrist, she gave me orthotics about a year ago, maybe more.  Might be worth seeing another physio maybe. 

Like you, I wouldn't mind as much if i had a clear plan and new it would be 3 months all in but not having that makes it hard and I dont know if i am actually making things worse by some of the things i'm doing

22/04/2013 at 10:52

so, it all went quite well in the end.

after a slight delay i met up with KV and Rattler in pen 5, we had a bit of a chat with the 3:56 pacers and had a bit of slightly nervy banter. the silence for Boston was impecably observed and you could really feel the community spirit amongst the runners. as someone has already said, if you want to break the human spirit, marathon runners are not the group to try it with.

the start was fine. previous reports of slow first miles were not repeated and we got a good, clean getaway. although about 500 yards down the road, KV had to stop for a wee.