Shades Marathon Training

63,001 to 63,020 of 66,797 messages
17/10/2013 at 07:12

Emmy - perhaps we can persuade you to do Dartmoor Discovery one year, shorter at 32.4 miles but hilly.   It might change your mind about hills.

VR & Big G - how did the 5k go?

mowzer - I'm not too good at remembering so I have to write my reports over a few days, going back to add in bits as I remember them.

Really mild this morning, lovely run.

I bought some okra last night, nipped into Tesco's to order a TV for my Mum and saw the okra on my way out.   Not sure what to do with it now...any ideas

17/10/2013 at 07:36

Great reports, Shades and KK, well done both of you!  

Shades, re okra, put it in a curry, or just fry it really quickly - whatever you do don't cook it too much, or it turns into slimy horribleness 

VR, hope your 5K went well

Had a good, pacey run with club last night - we've moved to our winter meeting point, and the route was flat apart from one massive hill - I faded a little bit at the end as my group set off at around 7:20 pace (too quick for me!), but still managed to average 8 mm over a 6 mile route, so I'm happy that I seem to have recovered pretty well from the marathon!  I think I'm going to try for a bit more speedwork () and aim for a sub 4 marathon at Edinburgh next year.

Looooooong day at work today - I haven't planned my work very well, and I now have two 12-14 hour days a week, one sensible one and two with almost no work at all - sometimes I wish I had a 9 to 5, but only really on a Tuesday and a Thursday

17/10/2013 at 07:39

Shades - When is it? It's spring time isnt it? I'm sure I can be easily tempted if the dog can come along too

VR - How was the time trial at the club?

Madbee - Agree about Okra'. It's lovely when cooked properly!

17/10/2013 at 07:48
I don't think Big G was there last night. I didn't see him. But there were a lot of trotters taking part.
I was dreading it all day and felt sick at the start!