The Middle Ground

22,141 to 22,160 of 26,789 messages
13/12/2012 at 15:53

Mr V – nope, mileage has been purposefully low, I had two weeks of low mileage around the recent 5 and 10 mile race, then followed that with 13 miles (2 runs) in 6 days last week, I only started training properly again with the 20 on Sunday. Looking to build up the miles now, should finish with 55 ish this week, looking to build into the 60s over Jan. Then I will see where Marathon specific training takes me in Feb, March and April.

Sounds like a sensible plan on the tempo front, getting a mix of upper aerobic paces is certainly the way to go IMO. Don’t neglect straight tempos, 4m@ threshold, 5m@HMP etc….

Phil – cant watch the video at work, will check it out later.
Just read that Ryan Hall is now working with Canova, apparently before that he was using a ‘faith based’ training system, what the feck is that?!!

Agreed on the dark chocolate, I sit next to the tuck shop, I need to do something to stop me using it. Also think I might get a some frozen berries in to spruce up my porridge on a morning.

As for Marathon plans, your long run plan isn’t dissimilar to mine, long and slow before adding in the pace later on in the year. Though my approach to MP work is different. I am not planning on doing any larger blocks of it until Feb, though I may touch upon it at the end of progressive runs (med long at this stage) in the meantime.

13/12/2012 at 18:58

Ryan Hall's 'faith coaching' appears to be God as his coach and Jesus as his physio. Or the other way around. 

Hilly, that i sa fair point re: WAVA improvement although the chasers and the chasees will have different motivations!

Very nice session Mr V. A success you managed to stay upright!

YD, not too bad actually, so far. Easy runs are ok as I can run commute, and I have enough time to get the other sessions in.