Tiredness on long runs

8 messages
03/02/2014 at 13:08

Hi All,

Any avdice would be most helpful.

I have been running now for about 8 years and have run numerous 10ks, 3 half marathons and 2 full marathons.

I am currently training for the Brighton Marathon in April although recently I have found that my levels of energy on long runs are well below what they used to be. I can set off and after only 2 or 3 miles I need to stop for a recovery breather, I could run 10 miles without stopping 3 years ago but now find myslef needing these mini breathers during a long run, I'm not setting out too fast and run at a comfortable pace, I eat a bowl of porridge and a banana an hour before setting out and make sure I am well hydrated and take a drink with me on these runs, so why would I be struggling? Is there anything else I could do? 

Thanks WS.    

03/02/2014 at 17:06

possibly check your iron levels? if you are even mildly anaemic it can affect your ability to process oxygen.

03/02/2014 at 19:57

Thanks MM I will work on that....WS 

03/02/2014 at 20:02

Have you considered having a full health check up if that's a possibility for you? There are quite a few possibilities I could think of, from anaemia (as above) through to allergy-induced asthma, to the normal aging process.

Best of luck.

Gaz

04/02/2014 at 09:06