Training after giving blood

6 messages
05/12/2002 at 18:52
anyone know how long it takes to recover fully after giving blood. I assumed 24hrs as that's what the nurse said but todays run made me think it must be longer as I was unusually lethargic (gave away blood yesterday). Perhaps it was the free biscuits!
The Evil Pixie    pirate
05/12/2002 at 20:13
i took 3-4 days but then i am a newbie!!
06/12/2002 at 00:16
You've got to replace the red blood cells not just the fluid. I seemed to run like a drain for two or three months after giving blood but I was probably just being lazy.

I still reckon it must take at least a week otherwise the runners who used to go in for blood doping would just have had a pint removed one day and then stuffed it back in the next before a world record attempt.
06/12/2002 at 08:11
There are already several threads on this subject, but here is a summary:
It takes 24-48 hours to replace the VOLUME of blood donated, but the full 100% recovery takes much longer, appx 1 month. These are my recovery times:
Steady Runs = next day onwards.
Brisk runs = one week later
Interval sessions = 1-2 weeks
Full training (long runs & intervals) = 2 weeks
Race = 2 weeks if I'm not too bothered about a good time.
Race = 4 weeks if I want a good result.
Martin.
06/12/2002 at 08:37
I gave blood last week and my mates at work (supposed scientists) reckoned i should be ok running the next day so i did and i was completely knackered. I felt like i was running at altitude or something. Anyway, been for 3 runs this week so far and feeling back to normal now. I would personally recommend two or three days of no running to give your body a chance to recover.
06/12/2002 at 08:44