Training for several marathons in a year

3 messages
13/10/2010 at 00:44

I have run 3 marathons so far none fast my pb at london this year was 4hr 56min.

however i have a crazy idea developing in my head about completeing my 60th marathon on my 60th birthday ( or as near to it as possible)  whihc means in the next 15 years i will need to build up and do 4 to 5 marathons a year.

Now for some of you super athletes out here this might not seem to be  much but as a full time working single mum of a 12 & 14 year old i'd like a bit of advice and insight into

a)level of training

b)impact on your life

c)impact on your bank balance

My starting point is I have been running for about 6 years am a memeber of a small run club (lead one of slower groups) run 3- 4 times a week when not training for a marathon I probably do 15 - 20 miles a week.  i like to cross train 2-3 times a week as well when i can.

I am not concerned with running super fast marathons though if i commit to this journey I would hope to see quite an improvement in my times before age takes effect and i start to slow down!

My times at the moment are about

29min for a 5k pb 28.30

60 min for a 10k pb 57min

2hr15 for a hm pb 2hr 9min

marathon pb 4hr 56min

all advice / insights / comments welcome

Dubai Dave    pirate
13/10/2010 at 05:45

Well ist certainly perfectly possible.

1 Level of training is what you want it to be, have a look at Shades thread there are plenty who run marathons on three runs a week. If you want to reach your best you will have to do more.

2 Impact on your life, again its down to you I find time as a dad to kids aged 4 & 6 to train somewhere around 14 hours a week but  freely admit that wouldn't be possible without the goodwill of mrs DD. Assuming that you trust your kids to not burn down the house then early mornings & evenings would seem your best bet, though could you run to work? run at lunctimes?