What to do after the Marathon?

1 to 20 of 22 messages
16/04/2009 at 18:21

Hello

I'm a relative beginner to long distance running and I'm getting pretty excited about competing in my first London Marathon this year.

One reason to enter was to lose some weight as well as it being a fantastic personal challenge.

I have lost a stone and a half through my training, but I'm already casting my mind forward about what to do after the race and I've come up with a couple of questions that some more experienced runners may be able to assist with.

How soon after the Sunday should I run again?

What sort or running routine/training should I follow now in order to continue weight loss as part of a healthy diet, but without the target of a specific race?

How many times a week should I be looking to run?

Hoping someone can help.

Pete

16/04/2009 at 19:23

1. a day or two after to do a recovery run of 3/4 miles.

2. depends on how much you want to lose and time you have.

3. why not enter other races ie 10K's, HM's and set some PB's you'll have the endurance to do so.

JPenno    pirate
16/04/2009 at 22:38
Why not enter Ironman, you can then do swim bike and run training
16/04/2009 at 23:09
I'd love to do some triathlons. Do complete novices compete in such events, always struck as a thing you have to be at least pretty decent at to enter? In reply to what to do after your marathon.... nice cold pint of lager! Ahhhhh
JPenno    pirate
16/04/2009 at 23:16
Rodduz - complete beginners have done ironman events before BUT you need around six months training time
17/04/2009 at 10:17
Cheers. Yeah I'd not enter under prepared. Used to do mountainbiking so wouldn't mind getting into it again.
17/04/2009 at 14:15
Pirates?!?!
PSC    pirate
17/04/2009 at 14:43

Beer is the answer to the question.......

Then wot Stylish said!