Cr@p Swimmers R Us

Swimming Support Thread

5,801 to 5,820 of 12,948 messages
19/01/2009 at 23:29
Sorry going right off line here, but what sort of placing are you aiming at to get your place?  My only hope is winning the lottery place.  The dream of swimming there compared with starting at my local pool....... 
Bionic Ironwolf    pirate
20/01/2009 at 06:26

Neil - I've never had a real chance to qualify before, as I'm not that fast but I just moved up into W60 this year. There is only one other woman entered in our age group, and she is 64. Therefore I have at least a 50-50% chance of the qualifying slot - if I win then of course the slot is mine by right, if I'm 2nd and the other woman doesn't want to go the slot rolls down to me. She was the sole W60 last year and declined the Kona slot, so I have hopes. But I am going for the win anyway!

Meglet - thanks for thinking of me but I am not a novice, have done some IMs already. I am in week 14 of my coach's 37 week training plan to get me ready for July.

20/01/2009 at 07:18
Good luck IW!!
20/01/2009 at 08:31
Ultra-Ironwolf wrote (see)

Meglet - thanks for thinking of me but I am not a novice, have done some IMs already. I am in week 14 of my coach's 37 week training plan to get me ready for July.

oh no i didnt think you were, your swim training alone is pretty serious! Sounds like you have a good chance already, and with the right training you will increase your chances even more. having done one before i am sure you realise what it takes, i take my hat off to anyone wh even attempts an ironman (as someone who finds the thought of a marathon on its own very scary!). i have been reading that blog in awe, they went for Kona places last year but missed out. theyre fairly local to me too although i dont know them, just stumbles across the blog by accident.

my second swim lesson tonight, not so nervous this week

20/01/2009 at 08:44