Fatman to Ironman

Another Ironman journey

9,961 to 9,980 of 10,128 messages
Nurse Ratched    pirate
28/10/2013 at 22:57

Trust me, I'm a nurse......................

29/10/2013 at 07:25

Bepanthen?

So I need to become a cyclist in the next 9 months. And now it's cold and dark and the roads are covered in fallen branches etc. rumour has it ice and snow are coming and we will be getting the worst winter for years. What's the best plan? Spin classes? turbo trainer? Mountain bike?

Nurse Ratched    pirate
29/10/2013 at 09:43

Bepanthen - waterproof barrier nappy cream.

I love my turbo and use it a lot over the winter, but for a balanced view on the subject you should ask IronSossigeDog .  However, there is no real substitute for getting out on the road, which you will have plenty of time to do between winter and Outlaw (I'm assuming?).
I'd love a mountain bike, and would cycle outdoors much more in winter if I had one,  but don't have the pennies for that at present

M...eldy    pirate
29/10/2013 at 11:04

Spoons .. mountain bike, will get you out in all weathers, good strength training and excellent for handling skillz  

Cake    pirate
29/10/2013 at 12:16
Spoons2 wrote (see)

Bepanthen?

So I need to become a cyclist in the next 9 months. And now it's cold and dark and the roads are covered in fallen branches etc. rumour has it ice and snow are coming and we will be getting the worst winter for years. What's the best plan? Spin classes? turbo trainer? Mountain bike?

Spoons all of the above if you can just don't do to much to soon. Turbo's are boring but you get to watch the rugby while you are doing it. Mountain's are cool and a spin if your doing it right will push you a little and worth doing even if it isn't winter.

29/10/2013 at 13:05

Spoons if I'm right and you are local the spindrome sessions on Fridays are good. Much more fun to turbo in a group.

29/10/2013 at 15:07

Thanks everyone. I can't do Fridays as I go to Cub Scouts!