Numpty IM Bike Thread

Bike ponces only welcome if they don't speak in tongues

11,361 to 11,380 of 12,024 messages
16/01/2012 at 16:21
ah - if bits fell out then yes, that would make me think the shifter is borked

the old "hit it with a hammer" approach isn't always the best..
16/01/2012 at 21:10
Never ever take a shimano shifter to bits.
VT'd    pirate
16/01/2012 at 21:23

lol popsider, I wouldn't normally (well, I probably would actually ), but I knew I'd already goosed it. 

I picked up a replacement LHS tiagra shifter on flea bay tonight for less than £40 so it was an expensive cockup, but could have been a lot more. 

I was a marine engineer on steam driven ships in my previous life, so the, 'Hit it harder with the biggest hammer you got' approach is ingrained in my nature.

I now have to learn how to replace the offending item....carefully!

16/01/2012 at 21:35

hi all,rear wheel punctured today, dropped the wheel out changed the tube with no problem and carried on with my ride but the gears started jumping about......what did i do???....what do i need to do now???

grateful for any help.

Cheerful Dave    pirate
16/01/2012 at 22:02

Check where the cable to the rear derailleur is going, you might have caught it somewhere when you changed the wheel which would muck up changing gears.  Check the wheel is in the dropouts properly, especially if there are any washers on the axle (there shouldn't be, but you never know).  Worst case you've managed to bend the derailleur but you'd probably have noticed knocking it that hard.

16/01/2012 at 22:04

Anybody got or know anything about the FELT B16? Thinking of that or the Canondale Slice 105 for my first TT.

Everybody seems to be raving about the spec of the Felt saying that it's more like intermediate bike than entry.

Anybody got any thoughts on these bikes?

Thanks

M...eldy    pirate
16/01/2012 at 22:09
M...eldy wrote (see)
and while we are talking turbos and tyres et.c