Swim Tumble Turns

Is it worth learning?

1 to 20 of 60 messages
06/05/2004 at 18:14
I've been swimming for about 4 years now, but haven't yet been up to tumbling. I've had a few goes, but it never amounts to anything.

I mainly race open water triathlons so don't need them for that. However, I think that if I could master them for pool training it might make me feel more of a swimmer (when you're swimming, think like a swimmer, when you're cycling, think like a cyclist type of thing...)

It also might keep the head-up, gossiping breast strokers away from me, as I've noticed that some give 'proper' swimmers a wide bearth, but if you turn without tumbling, they like to wait until you approach then start their length just in front of you and kick you as you go past. (Sorry - rant over - I think there's another thread for this kind of moan! Just don't get me started on people with really long hair who don't wear hats and then loose hair gets caught in your goggles, etc, etc!)

Any advice/opionins on tumbling?

Cheers.
07/05/2004 at 20:26
For Triathlons it isn't worth learning tumble turns as I was told on here a few week ago that you are not allowed to do TTs in Tri's.

To keep the slowpokes away I find it better to show that you are totally inept at TTs, but by thunder you are going to use them. It usually results in them fleeing to the side of the pool to get out of the way.
07/05/2004 at 20:27
Another way to deter them is to literally go over the top of them from your push off.
M.
07/05/2004 at 20:49
unless is says so in the rules of the individual tri concerned i think its normally ok to tumble turn?
M.
07/05/2004 at 20:55
You probably are correct M, but I was lead to believe that it was the other way round. Unless individual event rules state that you CAN use tumble turns then they are outlawed.

I think a search of BTA rules is called for, back later.
07/05/2004 at 21:29
I would be interested in this rule
07/05/2004 at 22:29