Swimming calorie calculator things

slightly bemused - please help

11 messages
20/04/2006 at 14:15
Having knackered my foot a bit recently and had to cut down running I've started swimming again to make up some of the exercise I'm losing out on. I've been looking at calorie calculators (via Google) to try to work out how much less energy I'm using than when I was running properly, but having tried 3 and come back with scores of 225, 445 and 627 calories (for 40 mins or 1000m swimming depending on what they asked), I'm not really any better off.

I'm not very good at swimming and can only do breaststroke, which wasn't an option on the ones that had a choice of strokes, and am about 105kg in case that helps.

Anyone know of a decent calorie calculator for swimming, or even a way of working it out that might make some sense? I would be very grateful
20/04/2006 at 14:36
why not try cycling instead - will burn more cals that way and is also non-impact......

or - if you need the pool instead - try aquarobics??
20/04/2006 at 14:44
FB - as you may have noticed from the MTB thread earlier, I don't currently have anything to cycle on. I am planning to get a bike but will probably not be until the end of May, so its swimming for the moment. They do a circuit training class at the leisure centre I swim at which I quite fancy but its on an awkward day.

so how do I calculate my calorie expenditure in aquarobics? ;-)
20/04/2006 at 14:47
ah yes - Loki - forgot........

and - no idea!!!
20/04/2006 at 14:48
and cheers, which the pixies seem to have deleted from the beginning of that post
20/04/2006 at 14:57
Not much help but you could buy a HRM that counts calories.

I think you may be disappointed though, it's tough to get the heart rate up swmimming. Swimming breaststroke I dont burn any more calories than an easy walk.