Total beginner - try a triathlon??

1 to 20 of 57 messages
18/04/2007 at 20:54
Hi,

I've been a runner for a number of years and in my youth used to be quite a good swimmer and am thinking that i'd like to maybe try a triathlon but don't know where the hell to start????? Any advice on where to go (careful!), what to do to find out where any triathlons are for beginners?

I live in south glasgow so anyone with some inside info on clubs in this area would be much appreciated....or a general starting point for a beginner?

Equipment.....another story too. What do you need etc.

Any help would be MUCH appreciated.
Garr    pirate
18/04/2007 at 20:55
My guess is that in 18 months you'll be calling yourself a pirate, and be a proud Ironman.

Just you wait!
18/04/2007 at 20:58
Oh my god what the hell is a pirate...as i said total beginner!! would i not be an iron lady then...hell no...margaret thatcher ...think for once it's probably best to be a bloke on this one!!
M...eldy    pirate
18/04/2007 at 21:01
another lamb to the slaughter :-)
Garr    pirate
18/04/2007 at 21:02
Nonsense. Have a scan down the list of threads in this tri section.

They are all started by people who came into this forum exactly as you just have.

Once you read what people have achieved, where they began (some way behind where you currently are), and where they are now, you'll feel inspired.

If you want it enough, you can do it.

Pirates are the unofficial RW triatlon junkies.
Garr    pirate
18/04/2007 at 21:03
There you go. Meldy, another Pirate (soon to be Iron Pirate)! Myself, a Pirate (double Iron)!
Garr    pirate
18/04/2007 at 21:04
And don't go thinking we're lean mean triathlon machines. Pirates look like your average darts player.
Garr    pirate
18/04/2007 at 21:07
Anyway, seriously now.

Avalaf will hopefully spot this thread as I think he lives in Glasgow. He'll probably be able to give you some suggestions. In fact, i think he belongs to a club himself.