Training for a shorter Tri

For those not yet up to IM

9,581 to 9,600 of 17,569 messages
01/07/2013 at 16:52

ok, so ive taken mrs.digger's advice and taken a look at this thread.

im completely new to the triathlon world, so im looking for some practical advice on how a complete beginner can cross a finish line without having to be carried over it?

ta

01/07/2013 at 18:30

Welcome sjr71 - the secret is just to keep on going!!

Very warm run tonight 50 mins.  Pants swim last night 2.5k that took forever combination of 50m, very slow peeps and general lack of pool politeness - still I did it and then caught the bus home only to be told it would only be going half way home so I caught it anyway and walked the remainder home - I figured it was like Z1 brick

01/07/2013 at 18:54

just looking at the info for the swim on Saturday - 1.5k at Holme Pierrepoint and starting to worry that I might be last out of the water

ah well

5 mile run this morning, although knee now feeling a bit tender. Master swim session tonight. Going to be brave and change the wheel on the bike - put the turbo wheel back on ready for an early morning turbo. 

01/07/2013 at 19:15

Hahaha I too looked at it - we both can be last! First one on land shouts an icecream! I figure if I can get home in less time than it took the last person last year I will be happy

01/07/2013 at 21:55

didn't manage to loook at last year's results - got an error message. I am just so rubbish at swimming in a wetsuit!! I am blaming my wetsuit for this but am not prepared to buy another one this year, I might hire one at the ow place I go to one day just to see what the difference is though

changing the bike wheel wasn't as bad as I thought, difficult to get the wheel off but then easy to get it back on I need more practice though

01/07/2013 at 22:15

I don't think either of you speeding bullets will be last. I will attempt to be there in time to give you both ice creams!