Try a tri?

but....

1 to 20 of 23 messages
31/08/2003 at 15:11
I bought a copy of 220 Triathlon magazine last weekend and it had a really useful CD-Rom on it which outlined the basics of triathlon and stuff. I thought - what a good idea. I've just bought a bike - OK, it's a softy commuter type bike but what the hell. I've been running for about 6 months or so. What's stopping me from entering a novice event? Well, swimming. I haven't been swimming in ages so I thought I'd investigate our local pool and go for a splash today, until I found out how much it cost.

Nearly £4. I can't afford that, not regularly anyway. At least once you've got running shoes and a bike you haven't got to pay every time you go out....

Any ideas on how I can get swimming training without having to pay through the nose for it??
31/08/2003 at 18:46
can you a monthyly or quarterly pass as they usually work out quite cheaply if you swim 3-4 times a week

or join a tri club and see if they have subsidised pool sessions
iron fraggle    pirate
31/08/2003 at 19:11
My (local council) gym membership gets me free use of all the local pools as well - are you a gym bunny too?
31/08/2003 at 20:33
Joining a swimming club is normally much cheaper too.
AndrewSmith    pirate
31/08/2003 at 21:27
Find yourself a local tri club who do swim sessions. they are usually cheaper and more accomadating to beginner/improvers than swim clubs they may even have a coach who will help you as part of a normal session which means no extra cost for lessons.
31/08/2003 at 21:37
My gym doesn't have a pool, and my local pool monthly fee is more than my gym membership!

I might look into a local tri club, but I'll get better on the bike first - see if I *really* want to give it a go...
31/08/2003 at 21:38
I've changed my name from Tweety to Charlie by the way...
01/09/2003 at 11:42