Would you still be a Pirate if you didn't wear the kit,

and spend a lot of money buying it?

1 to 20 of 93 messages
kittenkat    pirate
06/08/2013 at 18:43

Is this now too focused on what you wear rather than what you achieve?

kittenkat    pirate
06/08/2013 at 18:50

I think my fundamental question is, has it changed so much that you can 'buy' your way in rather than earn your kit?

It doesn't matter to me one bit if it has as I popped my cherry back in 2008, but I'm curious. I think the comment on here just the other day saying that without other imput, this tri forum is basically just full of kit flogging threads...

Is actually not far off the mark.

06/08/2013 at 18:58

I am still a nurse without my uniform. The uniform simply highlights who I am. I'm proud to be a nurse as I am an apprentice pirate. I get more from the forum than shopping opportunities. I leave that for Wiggle (other sports stores are available).

06/08/2013 at 19:03

Besides, isn't this heading into the age old argument of Pirates being synonymous with IM. The buying rather than earning jibe. Haven't we been here before - a lot!

kittenkat    pirate
06/08/2013 at 19:06
MrsDigger (aka sicknote) wrote (see)

I am still a nurse without my uniform. The uniform simply highlights who I am. I'm proud to be a nurse as I am an apprentice pirate. I get more from the forum than shopping opportunities. I leave that for Wiggle (other sports stores are available).

But does your nurse's uniform turn into a nurse umbrella, stickers, jacket, underwear ad nauseum? There is a difference here.

kittenkat    pirate
06/08/2013 at 19:07

Besides, isn't this heading into the age old argument of Pirates being synonymous with IM. The buying rather than earning jibe. Haven't we been here before - a lot!

Is it not about doing IM from scratch now? You tell me.

06/08/2013 at 19:11