wannabe ultra runner?

share your ambitions/goals/training here on a 'newbie ultra' thread........

7,241 to 7,260 of 7,892 messages
18/02/2014 at 10:46

I am new to Ultra running and am nervously excited about the Imber 33 miler I have entered March 9th. I was recommended the "Relentless Forward Progress" book (cheap on amazon) as it is geared towards newbies. I have found one of the training plans in there to be brilliant and even though my average weekly mileage is now 46 per week I have found the training easier than when I trained for London last year.

A typical week consists of Mon-rest, Tues-7, Weds-5, Thurs-7, Fri-rest, Sat-24, Sun-7. You also get mini taper weeks every third week where Sat & Sun become more balanced say: Sat-14, Sun-10

Cant believe that two years ago I couldn't run for 10 minutes without having to stop and now I am going to be an Ultra runner - relentless forward progress!!!

18/02/2014 at 10:52

Booktrunk, I'm firmly convinced that for people at the back end of ultras (which definately includes me) a decent hike is as good training as anything.  After all, I'll spend a big chunk of any event doing it.

18/02/2014 at 19:55

On that note, some elite ultra runners include walking as part of their routine.  They usualy measure it in terms of time spent on their feet i.e. eight hours. 

19/02/2014 at 00:25

Sure it's been covered before in this thread, but just to throw it out there, don't forget to add in some core strength training. I do 4 runs a week and one circuit session at a gym focusing on core, upper body and legs, building to 2 a week in the run up to a race. i'm usually thankful for those towards the end of a long run!

WiB
19/02/2014 at 08:14

Out of interest cookiecrew, what benefit do you see from those sessions? How are they beneficial to you at the end of a long run?