wannabe ultra runner?

share your ambitions/goals/training here on a 'newbie ultra' thread........

7,341 to 7,360 of 8,331 messages
17/04/2013 at 12:35
cragchick wrote (see)

if it was me, it'd be 3 and 5, otherwise if you go for 1 then definitely 4 as well!

MTFU - man the f**k up

Ah, thanks cragchick.

GKD - I would say MTFU then. But I am new to ultra running, in fact I havent started training for my first race yet due to injury so maybe I'm not best placed to say that ! So, I would say defer and go for a run alongs the downs

17/04/2013 at 13:13

Hi carterusm - saw what you said about ybeing injured over on the M'cr marathon thread  -sympathies. Good luck for training for Chester, and hopefully I'll see you at Ladybower (I'm aiming for that as my final 50-miler of the year).

17/04/2013 at 13:55

If you like the craic of london and can make it fun and leave the watch and chip at home then do london.  otherwise think longer term and go for the downs, and defer (can you still??)

has anyone done marlborough downs 33 miles??  

17/04/2013 at 15:26

Hi Debra - My plan, as it is at the moment, is to still be at Ladybower but will probably only run the 20 miler as my last LSR in preperation for Chester. It's my first year of running this sort of distance so feel that a 50 miler 2 weeks before racing (rather than just running) a marathon will be too much for me.

How are you other races going this year ?

17/04/2013 at 16:56

Laura - I did Marlborough 33 as my first step up to ultra running back in 2009. I did it off the back of training for Shakespeare Marathon which was about three weeks beforehand. I LOVED it. Is a nice low key event, and the mixture of categories, a 20-miler and a walking one makes for lots of chatty happy people near the end when you need the encouragement.