Posted: 27/07/2015 at 13:57
As Symes says, tribelts are all much the same in my experience. But sometimes I leave it clipped up, step into it, and pull it up round my middle, which can be quicker. Might be worth trying that way?
I was officiating at a junior aquathlon the other weekend and saw a number of competitors doing the step into and pull up. Fine if the number is correct way up, but if they do need to correct it then the initial instinct is to reverse original action, flip number and then step back in. Which looked to be slower than put belt on and fasten. But, as Flyers says worth having a play with.
IIRC correctly, Fat Buddha was quoting on another thread that the ban non numbers under wetsuits is a WTC rather than a BTF rule. I haven't got my rulebook to hand for the moment.