Graham "legs in threads"


About me:For any one who is the slightest bit interested - returned to running in 2000 (age 43) after several years of doing bugger all. Had my best ever running year in 2003 with a 1:23 half-marathon (Bracknell), two sub 3 hour marathons (Leeds and Loch Ness), 2nd place in 3 Forts Marathon and completed two ultra marathons (32 mile Dartmoor Discovery [5th place & best newcomer] and 56 mile London to Brighton [11th place & a silver medal for a sub 7:30 finish]. In 2007, to "celebrate" my 50th birthday, ran 5 marathons on 5 consecutive weekends - Paris, London, Shakespeare, Three Forts and the Orpington "Mara#Fun" followed later in the year by the Amsterdam, Gatliff and Luton marathons. Ran two marathons in 2008 - Cold Christmas to Good Easter "cross country" marathon and the Gloucester Epney marathon. So that's 40 marathons in total (maybe one day I might get to 100). Running hasn't quite taken over my life (I'm not as fast as I used to be and now I enjoy a glass of wine or two) but it's an important part of what I do. Photo was taken at the Taunton half marathon in 2003 - haven't changed much since then (a little older and greyer but sadly not very much wiser). 2012 Update - painful knees and loss of confidence have curtailed my running for the forseeable future - very p!ssed off and somewhat depressed at this.
Status:Mid life crisis? My whole life's been a crisis.
I am a:
regular recreational runner
I have been running for:
Over 10 years
I run this many times a week:
1-3 years
My weekly mileage is about:
21 - 30 miles
Running club / race organisation:
I am a member of a running club
I do these types of running:
road / pavement
trail / grass / woodland
My most important reason for running is:
to get/stay in shape
I am a:
I have been participating in triathlons for:
I train this much per week:
Triathlon club / event organisation:
My most important reason for doing triathlons is:
My favourite event is:
Marathon
My next favourite event is:
Ultra
My third favourite event is:
Half-marathon
I take part in events:
1-11 times a year
I also do these sports:
Mountain biking
Swimming