10K and 5K Running, Training and Racing: The Running Pyramid by David Holt

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
 10K and 5K Running, Training and Racing: The Running Pyramid by David Holt

Our Review

Technical advice for 5K and 10K runners to build up from base training to performing on race day.

Reader Reviews

Be the first reader to review the 10K and 5K Running, Training and Racing: The Running Pyramid by David Holt !

Discussions

Hi I was wondering if anybody could recommend me any good running books at all...thanks!

Posted: 24/05/2006 at 17:10

the runners handbook by ron glover

Posted: 24/05/2006 at 17:14

I know it's old and difficult to get hold of but Jim Fixx's "The Complete Book of Running" is still a brilliantly written book that kick started the first running boom.

Try and find a copy in the library if you can - some of the idea's may not be fashionable now and science has advanced since the late seventies but it is still one of the most motivational runnings books ever written.

Posted: 24/05/2006 at 17:41


OS
Hal Higdon's Marathon is a nice intro to the subject, but light on any detail. recently bought 'the lore of running' by Tim Noakes and would very highly recommend it- everything you could ever want to know

Posted: 24/05/2006 at 22:20

Glover's Runners Handbook is absolutely brilliant for starting out.

Since then I've bought loads of running books and really the one I keep going back to is Lore of Running - even though it can be a bit weighty it synthesises all the other books' ideas.

Hal Higdon's website is good for running schedule ideas (but so is this site) and then Jack Daniels' Running Formula and Pfitzinger's Advanced Marathoning are good for pushing boundaries of performance.

And spend lots of time trawling these forums of course!!

Posted: 25/05/2006 at 08:16

The Art of Running with the Alexander Technique, by Malcolm Balk, is great for running form.

Posted: 25/05/2006 at 12:39

I've been running for a couple of years now and have only recently bought the runners handbook by ron glover. It has made me think about my running and I think that it will help improve

Posted: 25/05/2006 at 13:34

The Glover book is cheap on Amazon too :o)

Posted: 25/05/2006 at 16:09

I found "Running Injury Free" by Ellis & Henderson very useful.

Posted: 26/05/2006 at 09:51

BTW it's Bob Glover rather than Ron I think...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0140469303/qid=1148992218/sr=8-1/ref=pd_ka_1/026-7636824-9718014

Posted: 30/05/2006 at 13:31

<a href="http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/0140469303/qid=1148992218/sr=8-1/ref=pd_ka_1/026-7636824-9718014">link to it on Amazon</a>

Posted: 30/05/2006 at 13:34

link to amazon

Posted: 30/05/2006 at 13:37

'Feet in the Clouds' - a must-read (well, it is in my household!)

Posted: 30/05/2006 at 16:45

Damn! I think I ordered the wrong Glover book! Oh well, another trip to Amazon at some point ;o)

Posted: 30/05/2006 at 22:44

Tim Noakes the Lore of Running

This book has it all - more a reference book to dip into though

Posted: 03/06/2006 at 04:53

I have the "Competitive Runner's Handbook" by Bob Glover & wife - I think I ordered my books a bit too quickly and got the wrong one! Oh well, I'll enjoy reading this and will look out for/probably buy the other ones people also mention.

Posted: 03/06/2006 at 09:20

I don't tend to read books whilst running anymore because I found that I would often collide with lamposts. I think I was reading the Jim Fixx book last time it happened though, so I must have been fairly engrossed in it. Now for me to be engrossed in a book at all means it must have been a good one.

Posted: 03/06/2006 at 11:01

Ha ha fat face!

Posted: 04/06/2006 at 08:04

I've read a few recently...for inspiration go for Ultra Marathon Man, it's an amazing story. For a laugh go for The Looniness of the Long Distance Runner. Avoid 26.2 Marathon Stories...it's rubbish

Posted: 25/01/2007 at 10:20



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


RW competitions