Daniels' Running Formula by Jack Daniels

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
Your score:

Add a review

Add a comment...

Rightio what's your opinion on these?

Being a newcomer I thought I best get reading and these are two of the few that I have recently completed.

Out of the two I would have to say Bob Glover's Competative Runner's Handbook is better.
It's better written, more applicable to the "normal" runner and has better advice on running form I feel.

Opinions?

Posted: 04/08/2005 at 15:11

Like Bob Glovers Book used it myself and also has some humour thrown in as well. The analogies he uses are good too and although I prefer to use Hal Higdon for me training theres a lot of useful stuff in there.

Posted: 04/08/2005 at 15:16

Damn!

Nothing to do with Irish Whiskey then!

Posted: 04/08/2005 at 16:16

Not read Jack Daniels. I do have Bob Glover's Competative Runner's Handbook and I really like it. Its easy to read, full of good info, but not too "elitist". I wouldn't really describe myself as a competative runner, but I enjoy running and want to improve, and this has lots of info to do that without me feeling that I shouldn't be reading it.

Posted: 04/08/2005 at 16:53

Same here RM. I also find it very readable too.

Posted: 04/08/2005 at 17:01

Used Bob Glover myself and went from a 1:30 HM/3:16 Full to a 75 minute half and a 2:41 marathon. and I had no natural ability.

Posted: 04/08/2005 at 17:04

Some nice feedback here.

Yeh Glover took me from being a hunched up, tense plodder to something reasonable in terms of form. Shame he hasn't written anymore.

Running Formula has a fair amount of almost pointless graphs but you can't ignore the guy's credentials as the world's best coach.

Posted: 05/08/2005 at 14:07

Cracking progress btw Andy.

Posted: 05/08/2005 at 14:08

Thanks - can't run anything like that now but thats down to age and injury - but can't speak to highly of the book, myself and a training partner used it as our bible and he went on to run 71/2:29 as a vet - it was always in my sports bag and well thumbed -

(just to show my age had to look up BTW on the internet!! lol!! Which I had to look up too!)

Good luck with your running which ever book you choose.

Posted: 05/08/2005 at 14:26


We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member


RW competitions