Etymotic mc3 & AWARENESS! App

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion
 Etymotic mc3 & AWARENESS! App
You'll need the right shaped ears for these headphones, but they're worth it for the free app!

Our Review

Running in headphones can be hazardous, there's no doubt about it. Unless you have the peripheral vision of an antelope there's a good chance that, at some point during a run, you'll have a hair-raising moment with a near-invisible motorbike. Or you won't hear your neighbor's dog until it's tangled ...  Continue reading

Tags: Etymotic, awareness app, headphones

Reader Reviews

Be the first reader to review the Etymotic mc3 & AWARENESS! App!

Discussions

Awareness!™ The Headphone App for ALL headphones is on the iTunes App Store now.

It will go free with iAds shortly. Just search for Awareness.

 www.essency.co.uk 

 We are currently developing an Android version too

The Etymotic version is fully featured and tuned for Etymotic products

 Run safe! 

Posted: 21/07/2011 at 14:08

Does this count as spam?

Sounds like a complicated sledgehammer to crack a very small, occasional nut to me.  Plus ear bud headphones and running rarely get on.  And £70?  For normal use maybe at a push, but for running where rain and sweat usually mean they only last a year or 2 is very pricey.

Posted: 21/07/2011 at 14:42

I guess it's not spam  because it's linked to an official RW review article.

Could this be the solution to the ipods in races wars? Now I can just pretend I have one of these apps!

Posted: 21/07/2011 at 15:17

Not really Mike as it's just for phones, not standalone players.  Plus it assumes that the phone mic isn't obscured, say in a pocket.

What I don't understand is why use noise eliminating headphones and then use an app, with all the power overheads, to put the noise back in?  Bit like dehydrated water - just add water.  Or am I missing something?

Posted: 21/07/2011 at 15:28

BDB, did you miss the word "pretend" in my post?

I shall use my standalone player, and if anyone says why have you got earphones in, if I hear them, I shall say I have one of those awareness apps. Solved.

Posted: 21/07/2011 at 15:51

Good point Mike   Just like I would have to pretend to have need for it

(Sorry developers if I'm really missing the point of the app.  Happy to be convinced otherwise)

Posted: 21/07/2011 at 16:03

Its quite easy to miss the point of this app, a good pair of noise isolating earphones such as the etymotics can be deadly, headlines all over the world confirm this.

The point of this app is if you have enough of the outside world coming in through your earphones or headphones while you are listening to music, you'll hear a car approaching while its still some distance from you, in other words you remain aware of your surroundings.

There's also a microphone trigger function that switches the mic on when noise levels exceed a predetermined threshold (set by moving the red scale across) but this is more useful in the office or home where you don't want to hear any background noise but do want to hear a phone ringing.

Also, the app uses the microphone on the etymotic earphones so you can tuck your iPhone or iPod away in a pocket, it will only use the iPhone's built in mic if your headphones don't have a mic.

Are you convinced yet BDB?

Posted: 22/07/2011 at 22:06

Thanks for the input Alex - I can see the advantage in an office or a factory floor where people use ear defenders but may need to hear an alarm. 

But I'm not convinced for running I'm afraid.  If people die using your product as you're suggesting, tell them to not use them for running or to keep the volume low.  People who are stupid enough to wear noise isolating headphones running will not use the app.  Everyone else will be ok with outside noise spilling in or turning the things down.  And again, I may push the boat out for an expensive pair of headphones for normal use and I would expect them to last for years, but not running headphones which don't last due weather and sweat.

I just think you've got the wrong market.  Main priority for running headphone is comfort and something that stays in place.  For me and many, bud earphones don't do that.  And I'm not going to pay for an ear mold when for the same price of the etymotic and a mold, I could buy 5 or 6 pairs of perfectly adequate Sennheiser.  Sorry.

Now if you would like me to road test a pair, I'd happily give them a try

Posted: 23/07/2011 at 00:22



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

Accurate sound
Uncomfortable
  • Price: £69.95
  • Year: from 2011