Garmin Forerunner 50

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Garmin Forerunner 50
A nifty, easy-to-use package at a fantastic price.

Our Review

by Welsh Alex The Forerunner 50 is available in two packages. The first consists of a watch, footpod, heart-rate strap and a plug-in data receiver for your PC but if you really don’t want the heart-rate strap you can save yourself around £20 by buying the watch, pod and receiver ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

41 user reviews of Garmin Forerunner 50 See all

Overall reader score
re Battery Life: I don't have the hrm/footpod/antstick and it flatted a new battery in 4 months - it was indicating "Battery Low" after 3 months, so at that point you're loathe to go out with it for an importan Continue reading...
It's a good entry level running watch but unreliable and with an awful battery life. Continue reading...
This became unusuable, I had it all setup at the start of a run or cycle, but by the end the time would've been changed, clock stopped. Useless. Continue reading...
I bought this after a week of running, so very green. It helped me a great deal and stopped me over exerting myself. I use it every run and it has built up a great record over the last 7 weeks. It's currently a Continue reading...
Good price, particularly as the replacement FR60 model costs well over one hundred pounds.
Excelent for HRM base training etc. Continue reading...

Discussions

Hello i had a 301 for xmas a couple of years ago and shortly after i got it, the 305 was launched. I'm wondering if anyone knows if/when the next new one will be coming out and if so what improvements it will offer?

Posted: 29/07/2007 at 06:46


M.
i've been wondering about this too - my 301 doesn't work very well here and my OH's 305 is much better at getting a signal so i was debating getting one. but if there's any chance of a new version i'll wait. haven't heard anything though.

Posted: 29/07/2007 at 06:49

405 next I think

Posted: 29/07/2007 at 07:26

why is this thread in bold, or is it my eyesight??

Posted: 29/07/2007 at 07:27

Its in bold cos it's important :-) So, KK any info about the '405' or were you just making a logical assumption? I suppose nothing will be announced till after xmas (after everyone has bought a 305...) two years seems like a long time in gadget world for there not to be an update on the cards?

Posted: 29/07/2007 at 17:00

I'm also curious on this one - my Mac means I'm slowly getting sick of Polar, despite how much I love my RS800SD. The ONE THING that puts me off the Garmin is the fact it won't do distance etc indoors on treadmills too.

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 17:15

I've still got a 101. Is it worth upgrading?

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 17:17

Ah HA! I see there's a footpod for it too. Anyone used it?

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 17:18

Good things are on the way from Garmin but they are being hush hush about it at the mo.

Dave Cochrane - the Garmin will do indoor speed with the Garmin footpod!

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 17:18

Link to exciting news


;-) ;-) ;-)

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 17:32

Why a footpod for the treadmill? Won't the treadie tell you how far you've gone anyway?

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 21:00

I've still got a 101. Is it worth upgrading?

No 101's are the best!

Posted: 06/08/2007 at 21:06

Thanks TT. I'll stick with what I've got then.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 09:47

Plain Lazy - good enough to hold off selling my RS800SD for?

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 14:27

yep, i think it will be pretty tough to beat.

The RS800SD is one amazing bit of kit though. Running cadence and stride length is great information if you know how to interpret the results.

The Forerunner is more of a 'family friendly' device and strips away some of the features most people wouldn't use. I have used them all and am still sticking with my Forerunner as i just find it so easy to use.

I am holding out for the new device from Garmin as i think it will turn out to be top notch.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 15:01


Do2
SOG - Your link = Hilarious :-)))

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 15:09

Plain Lazy - I don't really use those two particular features that much, although cadence has helped me stay lower to the ground a little. If some sort of fitness tester was built into the next Garmin it's a definite for me - any time frame info?

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 16:32

erm, sorry to tease you but I really can't say anything about dates as i haven't been told anything precise. Garmin are keeping things top secret and would like to keep things under wraps until the official launch.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 16:45

Plain Lazy, you're a beast.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 18:47

My guess is a January 2008 launch at the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas (Jan 7th-10th), for a Feb/Mar 2008 release on general availability.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 19:00

Right people, I vote for a hardcore research effort to know more.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 19:02

Muttley - I think the idea of the footpod for the Garmin for the treadmill is so that you can continue to electronically record your mileage and pace data for review on your computer (ie for your computerised log)

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 19:03

And the reason I have my bets on Jan 2008 launch at CES is because thats exactly when and where they've launched their previous couple of models. 2+2=?

(but not heard anything from Garmin myself)

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 19:05

NFRR - good use of arithmetic.

I reckon that's a safe bet, although an irritating one as my RS800SD resale value will be even lower then.

Posted: 07/08/2007 at 20:51

WHat can they possibly add to a "405".

Cant be that much different?

Posted: 10/08/2007 at 09:32

Smaller, lighter, even better and quicker at getting reception, higher resolution/colour display, better battery life, built in mp3 player...........

Posted: 10/08/2007 at 20:48

I do not wish to know!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Ill only want one otherwise)

Posted: 10/08/2007 at 20:48

My RS800SD now on eBay - bring on the 305!!!

Posted: 11/08/2007 at 20:23

Is it good enough to upgrade from the 301?

I love the 301, but it does seem to dislike trees (even light and sparse trees), and it takes ages to lock on and I end up standing around like a lemon for a minute or two with my wrist as high as I can stretch in order to get hooked up, when I ought to be off and running before the warm-up wears off!

Posted: 06/09/2007 at 21:50

I've given up on them (admittedly I've only got a 101), it just keeps letting me down. It sounds like the newer models aren't much better; however, the forerunner 50 is very appealing.

Posted: 07/09/2007 at 09:31

Think how much cheaper the 305's will be when they bring out the new one!

Posted: 07/09/2007 at 21:59

Well, they are about £150 now, which seems like a bargain to me.

Posted: 15/09/2007 at 12:48

Or about $180 in the US...

Posted: 15/09/2007 at 16:34

I Run a lot in central london during my lunch and I can say the foot pod is a brillant additon to help me train, the 305 could never find a reception with all those tall buildings!

I do find the maps on the Training centre very poor can i export my info to another software package to see my route? 

Posted: 15/09/2007 at 17:38

http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTracks/

305 and Sport tracks is the dogs doodaas. Version 2 beta now available. You can see your route on a sat image plus loads of other stuff. It's brilliant, nuff said.

Posted: 15/09/2007 at 22:29

Given the 305's ability to lose GPS signal and therefore may not be 100% accurate, is the foot pod not better in terms of accuracy, ie would it be worthwhile using it even in clear conditions where signal isn't likely to be a problem?

Posted: 18/09/2007 at 16:25

I'll tell you what they could add to a Garmin 305 as the next big thing.

Road map software. But they would then have to call it something like a Peugeot 405. Mind you, the 305's more advanced than the car. Let's be honest, Garmin certainly have the software already cracked to do that, they have been doing aircraft moving map GPS for longer than they have done portable runners GPS. That's why you get the sexy moving compass rose when you ask it which way to go. It's an aircraft instrument.

Now. Why did I first come onto this thread.

Ah yes - for the Sports trax link

Posted: 19/09/2007 at 18:31

The bike version of the Forerunner 205/305 the Edge 205/305 is being replaced by the Edge 605/705-

http://www.pocket-lint.co.uk/news/news.phtml/9777/10801/Garmin-launches-Edge-705-605.phtml

I like? the bit- "ANT+Sport technology allows the Edge to interface wirelessly with a heart rate monitor  cadence sensor or other Edge units. Cyclists can share courses and workout data before, during or after a ride."

How about extended battery life, more memory and above all better waterproofing for triathlons.

Posted: 21/09/2007 at 15:15

Dear Mr Garmin

This is what I would like (it's all been said above, but I thought I'd summarise!!!)

  1. Thinner (but same size/bigger screen)
  2. Better reception (like Mission Impossible III - works inside a lift of a tall office block!!!)
  3. on screen maps that show footpaths and bridleways (therefore would have to be pukka Ordnance Survey maps I guess?)
  4. faster boot up (still takes up to 3 mins on my 305)
  5. MemoryMap software bundled

Thanks!

Posted: 25/09/2007 at 09:27

Dear Blackers,

Just strap this to your wrist.

Yours sincerely,

Senior Garmin 

Posted: 25/09/2007 at 09:36

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion