Garmin Forerunner 201

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Your score:

Add a review

Add a comment...

The free software you download from Garmin Needs Major Work to be a usable Running Logbook.
If you no anything better post info about it hear.
Also if anyone knows about any other useful software lets hear about it.

Posted: 27/01/2005 at 22:00

you could download the software development kit from the garmin site...

Posted: 27/01/2005 at 22:30

Hears a link to what i have found so far.

http://runyet.com/forerunner_software.html

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 11:41

I will be having a go of this one i found and let you all no what i think:

MotionBased is a web application that translates GPS data into functional analysis and online mapping for endurance and outdoor athletes.

http://www.motionbased.com/index.jsp

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 11:50

MotionBased dose not work in the UK as yet Soon i hope as it looks good.

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 12:17

4XMLExtract
Forerunner XML to Excel converter
ftp://ftp.eskimo.com/u/j/joelm/4XMLExtract.zip

ACME Mapper
Uses the same data as terraserver-usa.com with different user interface
http://mapper.acme.com/

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:01

BikeCommute.Com
A website for bicycle commuters
http://www.bikecommute.com

CompeGPS Land version
Digital cartography viewer, free maps download, 3D simulator
http://www.compegps.com

Culberson's conversion tool
Converts the Garmin XML export to GPX files
http://www.bradculberson.com/bradculberson/blog/?catid=4&blogid=1

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:01

DayBreaker
Program to parse XML Log files into daily runs and into CSV comma delineated data text files suitable for other map files.
http://www.barkingdogs.com/DayBreaker/day_breaker.htm
Endless Pursuit.com
Fee-based exercise metrics tracking website (apprx. $150). "For GPS owners who want an easy to use mapping solution and analysis tool, Endless Pursuit is a software product that leverages GPS technology by providing measurable statistics and charts comparing personal historical training outputs."
http://www.endlesspursuit.com

ExpertGPS
Displays your waypoints, routes, and tracks on USGS topo maps and aerial photos.
http://www.expertgps.com/

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:02

Forerunner 201 Features
Forerunner 201 Undocumented Features
http://home.socal.rr.com/diverhank/ForeRunner201.htm

Forerunner specs
Garmin's PDF file
http://www.garmin.com/specs/Forerunner_series.pdf

GPS Maps (Satellite)
Upload and view tracklogs overlayed onto satellite maps
http://maps.innersource.com/

GPS Visualizer
Free, platform-independent, on-line tool for making maps from tracklogs
http://www.gpsvisualizer.com/map?form=forerunner

GPS re-radiating antenna
Purchase GART3X model and search forum for Bill Finley instructions
http://pc-mobile.net/gpsant.htm

GPS-Practice-And-Fun.com
Various GPS software listings
http://www.gps-practice-and-fun.com/gps-software.html

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:02

Garmin GPS Interface Spec
http://www.garmin.com/support/pdf/iop_spec.pdf

Garmin bike mount
Consider using pipe insulation as an inexpensive alternative
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B0000CFYMI/002-6994234-7517604?v=glance

Geocaching Swiss Army Knife
Great piece of software to upload multiple waypoints using .loc file from geocaching.com
http://www.gsak.net

Memory-Map
"Plan your routes and print maps or charts. With a GPS connected it will show your position on a full colour detailed map and help you navigate your way. When you return home, the Performance Review features let you see exactly where you've travelled, distance covered and speeds."
http://www.memory-map.co.uk/

MotionBased
Translates GPS data into functional analysis and online mapping
http://www.motionbased.com

NewEgg
One place to buy a com/serial port to usb port connector, cheaper than RadioShack
http://www.newegg.com

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:03

OnlineConversion.com
Common length and distance conversions
http://www.onlineconversion.com/length_common.htm

Open source GPS code
http://gpstk.sourceforge.net/

Purple Computing
"We help you connect your Garmin GPS"
http://pfranc.com/

RunYet
A website for runners, home of the runner bio pages
http://www.runyet.com

SportSim
GPS training software (downloads topographic and satellite maps for you Forerunner tracks, own maps incl.)
http://www.sportsim.com/index.php

Strap spring bar removal tool
"First-Quality Spring Bar Tool" to remove the strap pins if you ever need to wash the strap or whatever
http://www.ofrei.com/page_226.html

TerraServer USA
Good map site with source data used by several other sites
http://www.terraserver-usa.com/address.aspx

The Athlete's Diary
Highly recommended training log Palm and Windows software, been using both versions for about a year. No GPS integrations though.
http://www.stevenscreek.com/tad.html

Topofusion
Excellent inexpensive 3D GPS mapping software
http://www.topofusion.com/

USAPhotoMaps
"USAPhotoMaps downloads aerial photo and topo map data from Microsoft's free TerraServer Web site, saves it on your hard drive, and creates seamless maps from it." Helpful "how-to" instructions in our Files section.
http://www.jdmcox.com/

Zeropace Training Log
"Plan, log, report, chart and organize your personal or team fitness, training and workouts"
http://www.zeropace.com/desktop.htm


Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:03

This is an ace bit of software:

LOGBOOK SOFTWARE FOR THE GARMIN FORERUNNER 201
VERSION 7.0
MICK CHAWNER
18 JAN 2005
mick.chawner@sympatico.ca

Try the BackUpForeRunner LogBook software at
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/GarminF/files/BackUpForeRunner/
and it's free

This software is a logbook for users to analyse, view and export all of their runs captured using the Garmin ForeRunner 201. It currently doesn’t interface with the 301.
It relies on the XML file exported from the Gamin Logbook software.

The software is very feature rich, filling many of the weaknesses of the Garmin LogBook software.
• Backup and restore
• Export each run as a txt and csv file
• Charts for each run
• Summary report and charts
• Search facility for run notes
• Comparison of runs on the same course with charts
• Actual versus targeted training profile charts
• Manual run entry for runs without the ForeRunner
• Auto new shoe mileage tracker
• Item mileage tracker with up to 5 separate items
• Automatic connect to and display of your run maps
• Miles and Kilometres are supported
• Save reports as a text file for printing
• Ascent and Descent totals for each run
• GPS accuracy comparison on runs on the same course
• Training profile for weekly total distance and longest run targets
• Replay feature on the run altitude chart so that you can see your speed and pace

It does not communicate with the 201 directly. It uses the XML file that is exported from the ForeRunner 201 LogBook software.
It has been designed and tested on Windows ME, 2000 and XP only, but may work on earlier versions.

Posted: 28/01/2005 at 13:29

I use Trailgauge with the Garmin eTrex but I'm sure it works with the Forerunner too as they all use the same protocol. It shows your track overlaid on a map but also shows your speed and mile splits along your route aswell as an elevation profile.

A really nice feature although not particularly useful is that it flys through the route in 3D so you see the same views that you did when you ran it !! This is fairly pointless, though, if you're unfortunate enough to live in the SE corner of the country where there are no hills.

Posted: 29/01/2005 at 20:20

I use Trailgauge with the Garmin eTrex but I'm sure it works with the Forerunner too as they all use the same protocol. It shows your track overlaid on a map but also shows your speed and mile splits along your route aswell as an elevation profile.

A really nice feature although not particularly useful is that it flys through the route in 3D so you see the same views that you did when you ran it !!

Posted: 29/01/2005 at 20:23

Apologies for the duplicate, the forum is behaving a bit strangely and I didn't realize it had already posted.

Posted: 29/01/2005 at 20:26

Thanks for that Tom..........

Posted: 30/01/2005 at 20:53

Wow lots of information will read and try out some of the sights mentioned - hopefully get back with my views later -

Posted: 04/06/2005 at 17:41

Since this thread was started, a great FREE piece of software has come into being - SportTracks. See http://www.zonefivesoftware.com/SportTracks/ . It has full support for 201 and 301, as well as importing Polar HRM files as well. I strongly recommend that any 201 or 301 owner checks it out. (And no, I've no commercial interest in it - I'm just a very happy user!).

Posted: 05/06/2005 at 11:59

Anyone know of any Linux compatible software?

Posted: 16/11/2005 at 22:39

I've set up a site for GPS Users to share their best routes with others. It's at http://www.trailexchange.co.uk and the idea is that runners/walkers with GPS units can search for new routes to download,
either in their own area or when visiting another location. Users can also upload their own favourite routes for others to share.

Any GPS user who can export their route in GPX format can use the site, so if you've got any of the recent Garmin ForeRunners (201 & 301) or other brands of hand held GPS units, you'll be able to export to GPX
format using the supplied software or using something like SportsTracks.

It's using a live googlemaps interface, so that as well as a standard file browse hierarchy, users will be able to easily see all of the routes in real time via the map
interface.

I'm keen to get good quality routes that show your area off to it's best advantage - somewhere you'd be proud to take a visitor yourself. I'm NOT wanting uploads of your
Track Session or your run home along the dual-carriageway!!

Comments & suggestions welcomed!

Simon Finch
http://www.trailexchange.co.uk

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 10:30


I am swaping computers this Christmas. How do I transfer my old running logs/files? These are in the Garmin only software.

Thanks

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 15:33

I'm guessing the files will be stored somewhere. Take a look in `My Documents' and your Garmin installation directory (probably in `Program Files')

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 15:39

File>export history. Burn to CD/put on storage device. Import on new PC

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 15:45


Thanks

Posted: 20/12/2005 at 15:47

Duncan,

any idea where I can now get BackUpForeRunner LogBook software from?

I know it's some time ago...

Cheers,

Nigel

Posted: 08/01/2007 at 22:23


We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member


RW competitions