Garmin Forerunner 205

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Your score:

Add a review

Add a comment...

Press release here

Info page here

Very nice - who's going to be the first to get one?

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:11


MB.
I like the idea of being able to recall previously run routes and the training partner being able to adjust it's pace for hills etc. I wonder if this means you can race yourself?

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:14

me me me...

anyone want my 301 ?

i dont hold much hope for it shipping for a few months anyway.

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:16


MB.
If everyone wants to chip in a pound each, I'll happily test it out and see if it's worth buying.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:19

I like the look of:

more customisable screens (up to 12 fields on 3 screens, much better than the single customisable screen now)
smaller HRM belt
interfaces with the bike cadence sensor just like the Edge
comes with a docking cradle
display is only fractionally smaller than the 301 (1.3" x 0.8" vs 1.44" x 0.92"), this was the one thing I was concerned about
judging by the pictures in the gallery, it might do cool graphs on the display (or that might just be a sample marketing image photoshopped on)

Downsides - stores 1000 laps of memory instead of 5000 on the 301 (going to have to be a bit more careful about backing it up to the PC), and battery life is 10 hours instead of 14 (fine as long as you remember to leave it plugged in)

Have already been promised one for my birthday :-)

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:20

Looks good, doubt I'll be getting one for a while though.

I like the fact it's a normal watch strap. My 201 strap started to smell pretty rancid from sweat and it wasn't the easiest to clean as I wasn't sure what was best to clean it with!!



(I have cleaned it now and it's not too bad!)

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:43


"or race a Virtual Partner that varies its speed while climbing hills and navigating turns"

As MB99 says this is great. It is one thing I had actually written to Garmin and requested; if the thing understands when I am going up a hill it will be brill.

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 16:50

sssshhhhh


keep it quiet until I sell my 301:-)

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 17:35

Thank's for this. I was looking at prices for the 301 on Amazon last night. Looks like I'll wait for the new ones to arrive.
Hopefully the Garmins will run out of changes soon. I would add an mp3 player to it then it would be complete for my needs

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 18:28


I fancy a Rockets and a Lazer on the 401.

Posted: 03/01/2006 at 18:31

Looks great. If only Garmin could make it work with a Mac!!

Posted: 04/01/2006 at 11:13


We'd love you to add a comment! Please take half a minute to register as a free member