Nike + SportBand

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Nike + SportBand
A slimline wristband designed for those who prefer to run without their favourite tunes pounding in their ears.

Our Review

The Nike+ SportBand is a speed-and-distance monitor designed for who prefer to run without their favourite tunes pounding in their ears. Itt pairs a slimline wristwatch with a motion sensor (both included within the RRP £40) in your shoe to track distance, pace and calorie data while you run. The watch’s detachable ...  Continue reading

Reader Reviews

43 user reviews of Nike + SportBand See all

Overall reader score
A cheaper alternative to the GPS version but you do need Nike+ trainers or a little pouch for the chip. Overall perfect for the runner that is more concerned with recording time/monitoring pace than distance. Continue reading...
The best watch out there for this price.
Continue reading...
Overall, I like the look of the product and the 'whole package' in terms of the website etc, but for me it is too inaccurate to use for training. As a sports watch I like it but think I might have to invest in Continue reading...
I have had one of these for nearly 12 months using it 3/4 times a week from my starting out runs to marathon training and all in between. As i was new to running I did not want to spend a fortune on equipment a Continue reading...
For any runner - new or established - a degree of measurabilty is crucial. If your not a techie, not keen on spending £100 plus on GPS, or just not sure you'll still be running in six months time, this is the Continue reading...

Discussions

Had my Nike+ Sports Band for a week now and have done 3 runs so far.

What a superb and ingenius little gadget this is. It records all the basic information most runners would want to know (distance, time, calories and pace) and the way it automatically tansfers it all to your web page once you insert the USB stick/display is just brilliant. 

As for accuracy, it is hard to tell, but you could say that about GPS. On a recent run with some friends, I logged 8.63 miles, another had 8.49 according to their GPS and another had 8.84 so on this basis the Nike+ (being about in the middle) looks to be about right. The only criticism I have is that it could do with a backlight and can't really understand why they didn't include one.

 All in all though, for the money it is excellent value and if anything is under-priced in my view.

Posted: 13/06/2008 at 17:57

I've read abit about this gadget on the forums and there seems to be a problem with running at different paces.

Because of the cost ie cheap and the fact that I'm new to running I don't want to buy too much, but it would be great to know my pace.  The problem is that I do a run/walk program, at the moment 4min running 1 min walking.  Have you tried doing intervals using your Nike+ ?

What else can you tell me that you think I should know?

Thanks

Posted: 13/06/2008 at 20:27

I have to say that although the sportband itself is very good the nike plus website where you download it all is absolutely rubbish, there are loads of complaints about it not working properly on the forums. runs arent logged properly , the training programmes dont work properly and its calculations are all wrong. everyone seems to be experiencing it looking at the message boards. you would think that nike could sort his out , or maybe they just arent bothered once theyve got your money . I would just use the sportband for what it is in itself dont count on the other gadgets on the website.

Posted: 14/06/2008 at 12:56

I really want one of these but I kive in Norfolk and can'f find a shop that sells them.

Posted: 14/06/2008 at 18:44

Start fitness -over there -------------->

or try ebay - got one for £35

Posted: 14/06/2008 at 18:50

Nice one thanks Buney, will order one tonight.

Posted: 14/06/2008 at 18:58

Hi all sport band users...

Can any of you tell me whether as well as all teh other things it does does it tell the time? e.g. GMT etc...

 Or do I have to also wear a watch for that ?

Posted: 15/06/2008 at 19:20

you can use it as a simple watch - doesnt have a backlight tho

Posted: 15/06/2008 at 19:35

Does tell the time BUT not while running!!

The only downside to it I can see....

I've NEVER had an issue with the web site yet.....

Regards,

Posted: 15/06/2008 at 21:02

Mine wasn't accurate - it was about 7% over reading, so I calibrated it based on a known mile run.

Paula - it works on the basis of running steps, and the distance covered by each step, so if your steps are of different lengths (ie. some running and some walking) it won't be as accurate as if you are running all the time.

Posted: 16/06/2008 at 10:41

Yeah, as Wilkie said, it depends a lot on how consistent you are with your stride length. My girlfriend's one was all over the place when we went for a run with it so I guess she must shorten her stride when she gets tired or something. I measured our course using a mapping site based on google maps and for the first 3 kilometers according to the map, the nike reckoned we'd done about 2.3K where as the last 2 kilometers it got about right.

Posted: 16/06/2008 at 11:28

Thanks Wilkie and Sheddy

Posted: 16/06/2008 at 19:08

I bought one of these things yesterday, as it was cheap and liked the idea that it could load on to the computer.

Unfortunately when I go to try to download the programme it says that I have to have Vista or Windows XP. I have Windows 2000 I think. I'm not very good with computers, so I am now stuck. Don't know what to do next. Also, I don't have the right shoes that the little gizmo is supposed to fit into, but thought I'd attach it to my shoe laces with a little holder.

Can anyone help me how to get started?

Posted: 17/06/2008 at 21:17

I bought a little neoprene pocket from Start Fitness although you can find similar ones on ebay or amazon not sure about the Windows issue - im using XP and logging in wasnt a problem (havent uploaded anything yet as havent used it for anything sinc i got it last week ! )

Posted: 17/06/2008 at 21:20

Can I change my mind?

Did a run over the weekend and had trouble uploading and THEN it bloody DOUBLED my time!?!

NOT IMPRESSED.....

Posted: 23/06/2008 at 13:01

I can't use the computer side of it, as I can't download the nike+ utility at work, and I don't have a pc at home.

I just use it as a time/distance thing and one day, when I've joined the 21st century, I'll be able to do the rest.

I wrapped the foot pod in plastic, then covered it in duct tape, then taped it to my laces.  You just have to make sure you have it the right way up, or the band won't read it.

Posted: 23/06/2008 at 13:08

did you stop and walk at all mr moonlight? that seems to send it a bit crazy for some reason. it cant work out strides that arent done while running. Ive also found that running through long grass causes a break in contact and messes up the time.

 NZ christine I did as Buney did an dbought a little neoprene pouch off ebay for a few quid, it works fine.

Posted: 23/06/2008 at 15:50

No Colin I didnt....  I can do 10k without a break... I did do some on tarmac and some off road but not long grass or anything...

Hmm....

Posted: 23/06/2008 at 17:12

Decided to do a calibration of my sportband last night and went to the local track to do it. Was gutted to find it 12% OVER.

Not in the least accurate for me... Means what I thought was 6.23 miles (just over 10k) is actually 5.56 miles...

Dont feel so clever now...

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 06:51

i was going to do this, is it easy to recalibrate it ?

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 09:50

Yeah its very easy.... Do a run of known distance... Upload as usual... Hit the 'i' button on the front of the utility and then the 'calibrate' tab and adjust the distance recorded to the actual known....

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 10:57

I bought a sportband a couple of weeks ago. It was all going fine until last night when i tried to download my latest run data to the website and it seems to have lost all my runs. All it says is 'You have not synched any runs yet'. The information is still in the actual band, but it won't now download to the website. Has anyone else had this problem?

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 13:19

Joanne I've had this trouble... Firstly make sure you are still logged into the site.... Secondly do another short run (or walk around the house) and use the band.... Then once done upload again and it MAY correct itself....

It is, I have found, somewhat temperamental... 

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 13:28

cheers mr moonlight I will have a go at that.

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 13:29

Great - thanks I will try that!

Posted: 24/06/2008 at 15:50

Been using this for last three months and found it to be a wonderful bit of kit... sure accuracy can be a little poor in terms of distance and is worth calibrating it every month or so. The website can be a little slow and features have in the past appears and then disapeared. As of today the site is working well and offers that extra bit of motivation via the challenges.

 I am quite sure we won't have to wait a long time for updates to the website and the band itself (perhaps a little more functionality within the band itself).

 Personally I recommend it to my mates and certainly think it is £40 well spent.

Posted: 25/06/2008 at 22:50

Joanne: Did it work out ok?

COLIN: Had chance to calibrate? how was it for you?

Royalgreen: O guess you are right... For £40 is pretty good.

Posted: 26/06/2008 at 14:06

Mine was 6% overreading.

I think it should retail at around £20

Posted: 03/08/2008 at 14:30

I don't have vista either to run either. Can i use it without the software?

Posted: 03/08/2008 at 20:49

North London Runner... works quite happily with Windows XP. The Nike+ Utility software (necessary for the computer to recognise it) is free to download.

Posted: 04/08/2008 at 10:30

Just lost all numbers! words are ok.

Reset the thing, just got to calibrate it again!!!!!

Posted: 05/08/2008 at 18:57

crikey mine has been pretty good at sorting itself out thus far... only problem I noted was a bug with the 10K records on the website that thankfully they have sorted out after a month or so.

Posted: 06/08/2008 at 09:47

I was given one of these and eventually managed to get the software downloaded and the thing to work. But the display keeps on misting up with condensation and now appears to have completely given up the ghost. I only wear it for running and have had it less than 2 weeks (and it was brand new) !! Must be something fairly wrong with the design of these for this to happen so quickly

Posted: 09/08/2008 at 12:54

I've just got the nike + with the sensorin my trainer Just link it with my ipod. Is this gadget better then- the sportsband?

Posted: 09/08/2008 at 15:15

I use the sensor with an iPod too.  Mind you I've just dropped it in a sink of water.  Time will tell! My understanding is that the sportsband is just a 'cheaper' way of using the same technology - i.e. without the need for the iPod.

I like the info it gives you and use it in conjunction with a Garmin 50.

I like the info so much in fact that I wish I had a proper (LOL) Garmin which registered HRM, distance, speed etc and cadence on the bike.  But you like and learn I guess!

I do find it motivating to download the data! And look at the graph!

Posted: 09/08/2008 at 16:24

Dive Boy wrote (see)

 the display keeps on misting up with condensation and now appears to have completely given up the ghost.

After 3 runs, condensation formed inside the glass on mine.  I took it back to the shop and they exchanged it with no problems.  They asked me if I sweated more than normal (I don't!!) as I wasn't the first person to return one with condensation forming.  I did wear it in the rain for one run, surely they must be rain proof!

Posted: 09/08/2008 at 22:42

I empty my salty corrosive sweat (and any rainwater) out of the sportband after every run ( is that a nice image or what?) and never had a ingress problem. I think that on some the seal must be sh*tty.

Posted: 10/08/2008 at 09:00

 Hi,

 Just bought a sportband and seemed to have done the down load ok, however once I have done my first run the icon on screen said it was uploading run but no info on my nikeplus profile.  Please anyone HELP!

    Jim

Posted: 10/08/2008 at 18:20

I have just bought the sportband having used the ipod + which I love but its a bit tempremental - if I switch shoes it misses miles out freezes. I went for a run this morning with my new sportband did my usual 7 miles - went to upload the sportband it said I had done 3.34 miles gutted. What can I do ?????

Posted: 07/09/2008 at 16:39

James, you may need to download the nike+ utilities again. Its what i had to do although i had a different problem to you. I visited the Q&A pages on nike+ and its very common.

Posted: 07/09/2008 at 22:59

See more comments...

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


RW competitions