Maxim Energy Bar

Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion
Maxim Energy Bar

Our Review

Oat-flake bar with a sweet, flapjack consistency and a relatively high fat content.

Reader Reviews

3 user reviews of Maxim Energy Bar See all

Overall reader score

Pin
Very tasty as energy bars go Continue reading...
i would recommend these over things like powerbars and high 5 bars(I have tried them both and they are hard work) Continue reading...

Discussions

Hi,does anyone have any good recommendations on good energy bars to eat on a long run (marathon distance/32 miles) that won't bring on a stitch or tummy problems.

 Thanks

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 12:55

Try em all out.

Onlyway. What works for me, will be bad for you etc.

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 13:08

as TT - everyone reacts differently so you need to try various ones to find what suits.......

for me Torq bars are the best; Clif bars are also pretty good; forget those with too much cereal as it's like chewing cardboard when you'vre got a dry mouth

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 13:31

Yep, try them all although I normally prefer gels on marathon distance runs.

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 15:11

I can't do gels they make me feel so ill. I usually eat loads of jelly babies that so far is the only thing that seems to work, I get worried that those energy bars are hard to swallow etc etc but I suppose its trial and error. Thanks.

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 15:14

Solid food is tricky for me when running. OK on the bike, but I cant run and chew and breathe all at the same time.

Hi5 Gels work for me over the marathon distance. And yeah - best trying stuff for yourself.

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 15:40

I might try that Torq bar which you can get from this place near where I work - hope that doeso the trick as I've got 32 miles to cover

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 15:49

I have a friend who runs very respectible marathon times powered by jelly babies.

For 32 miles I'd be running at a pace that I would be just about be able to eat solid food at so I'd probably have some flapjack, a few jelly babies and I'm very fond of School Bars.

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 16:05

Thanks - I hadn't thought of those school bars they are yummy and taste like sweets.  Will be armed with a load of Bassetts jelly babies - any other brand just don't taste the same.

Posted: 21/11/2007 at 16:21

any1 got any suggestions on pre trainin bars and how long to take them b4 training

Posted: 17/03/2008 at 16:34

Try Larabars, you can get them in Holland & Barratt & big sainsburys.  Probably lots of other places.  They are 100% fruit and nuts, no sugar, chemicals, preservatives etc and act like rocket fuel.  They also have the added bonus of tasting good, unlike all the 'sports' bars i've tried which taste like cardboard with a chemical edge.

Posted: 17/03/2008 at 17:13

got any recipes for makin ur ownbars guys

Posted: 18/03/2008 at 07:33

I have somewhere, I'll look em up for you

Posted: 18/03/2008 at 20:46

I cant find them anywhere but the basic recipe is as follows, just play around with your own ingredients and quantities.

they are basically like flapjacks but without the butter, syrup or sugar!

 nuts - any kind, mix them up and chop tiny as poss in food processor or coffee grinder,  dates or dates and raisins, peeled chopped other fruit -eg apples, bananas, strawberries, cherries - anything you fancy

Mix these all together, if too dry add more fruit or fruit juice, if wet add more nuts or porridge oats.    The mixture should stick together, bit like sausagemeat consistency. 

Press onto a baking tray, the thinner it is the more crispy it will be.  Put into an oven on the lowest setting and leave overnight or in an oven about 4or 5 (gas), no more than 200 deg and just keep checking till you are happy with how soft/hard they are.

So long as you have nuts and dates you can add any thing you like, including coconut milk and fruit juice.

Good luck, let me know how they turn out.

Posted: 18/03/2008 at 21:25



Summary | Full Review | Reader Reviews | Gallery | Specs | Discussion


Our score:

Your score:

Need to know

  • Price: £0.99
  • Year: from 2006

Related Articles